Subject Guides: NLB eResources: Home

Singapore NLB eResources

The National Library Board (NLB) offers access to a large number of electronic resources on-site at their libraries and/or from home.

To access these databases, users would need to login with myLibrary ID. Singaporeans, permanent residents and foreigners with FIN number can create myLibrary ID or sign up as NLB members online at NLB's website.

Accessing NLB eResources

Databases

Below are some of the highlighted databases accessible from home that you may want to explore especially when you are doing multiple disciplinary projects that expands beyond your subject area.

EBSCOhost academic search complete
Designed for academic institutions, Academic Search Complete is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. It includes peer-reviewed full-text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
EBSCOhost research databases
EBSCOhost is the gateway to a number of different EBSCO databases covering various topics. It offers customizable basic and advanced searching supported by Boolean logic, natural language, enhanced subject indexing and journal searching. With links from the full record display to related articles by subject, magazine issue or author, users can further explore their topic.
JSTOR : the scholarly journal archive
JSTOR provides online access to archived contents of important scholarly journals, mainly in the humanities and social sciences. Researchers are able to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of back issues of journals and pages as they were originally printed. Existing titles are updated and new titles are added on an ongoing basis.
MarketLine Advantage
MarketLine Advantage offers an interactive platform giving you anytime access to up-to-date information and financial data on companies, industries and countries across every major marketplace in the world.
Naxos Music Library and Jazz
Classical and Jazz music recordings for on-demand streaming, with supplementary material such as album covers, liner notes, inlay card, biographies of composers and artists, curated playlists, educational resources such as Study Guides, interactive music dictionary etc.
Newslink
Newslink is an online archival news information service that provides access to English, Chinese, Malay and Tamil language newspapers from SPH Media Limited dating back to 1989.
OverDrive
OverDrive offers a wide range of ebooks, audiobooks, comics and magazines.
ProQuest central
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together in a smart interface, 30 complete databases covering over 160 subject areas, including Business, Health & Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and Language and Literature, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers.
SPH Media Newspapers
Collection of Singapore Press Holdings (SPH) eNewspapers including The Straits Times, The Business Times, The New Paper, Lianhe Zaobao, Lianhe Wanbao, Shin Min Daily News, Berita Harian and Tamil Murasu. Depending on the newspapers, access to previous issues varies from 7 to 13 days.
Udemy Business
Udemy Business is an online learning platform that offers thousands of courses on key soft skills and technical topics such as Software Development, Leadership, Marketing, Sales, Programming, IT, and more.

Searching NLB eResources

NLB has a OneSearch-like function that allows you to search across some of their subscribed databases.

To search articles and books across multiple databases,

Go to https://eresources.nlb.gov.sg/main/Browse
Enter keywords in the search box
Limit by format types on the right column
Remember to register and login with your myLibrary ID to access the resources.
Occasionally, you might see a Full Text Finder link instead. Click on the link and it will show you what are the databases that might link to this article.

Search NLB eResources - Proquest Central

1. Go to https://eresources.nlb.gov.sg/main/Browse

2. Click “P”

3. Click "Proquest Central"

4. Login to your NLB account

5. Access the database

eNewspapers and eMagazines

1. PressReader

Reading International eNewspapers and eMagazines with PressReader available in NLB, current issues from over 7,000 of the world’s leading publications. Some of the featured titles are listed below:

The platform has the audio feature which allows you to listen to an article.

Access from mobile devices

Step 1: Install PressReader free app on iOS or Android devices

Step 2: Install NLB Mobile app and login with your NLB account

Step 3: In your NLB mobile app, tap on to launch the PressReader

Step 4: Time's up? Missing the hotspot icon? Repeat step 3

Step 5: The issues are downloadable for offline reading

Access from a PC or Mac

Step 1: Go to NLB eResources

Step 2: Login with your NLB account

Step 3: Select "By A-Z" on the left panel

Step 4: Go to “P” and look for PressReader

2. Local newspapers: https://eresources.nlb.gov.sg/main/sphnewspapers

3. NewsLink (archival news produced by Singapore Press Holding): https://eresources.nlb.gov.sg/main/Browse?startsWith=N

4. Factiva: https://eresources.nlb.gov.sg/main/Browse?startsWith=F

Standards

SPRING Singapore forged a partnership with the National Library Singapore (NLB) to launch the Standards collection services at the Lee Kong Chian Reference Library (LKCRL) at Level 7. Members can access the full content of standards information in print format from SPRING Singapore on site at LKCRL.

For electronic copies of the Standards, members may access using any of the Multimedia Station terminals at NLB libraries, including the public libraries via NLB's eResources - Singapore and ISO Standards Collection Database at http://eresources.nlb.gov.sg/Main/Browse?startsWith=S.

On-site access to NLB eResources

At any NLB Libraries, you can log on to NLB's Wireless@SGX WiFi network which is a free service, and gain access to the subscribed databases (e.g. Factiva) using your personal devices such as laptops, tablets, etc. Article downloads are subjected to licensing terms of each database.

The seats at the Study Areas are bookable and you may reserve a seat at: https://www.nlb.gov.sg/main/services/using-the-library

NLB eResources

Librarian

Contact Us