LinkedIn Learning

Instructors can supplement existing course modules by incorporate LinkedIn Learning contents into their courses in xSiTe. We encourage instructors who wish to adopt LinkedIn Learning courses for teaching to indicate the module information here. This will help the Library better manage user accounts to optimize the use of the subscribed licenses.

Use one of the methods below to add LinkedIn Learning contents to xSiTe:

• Method 1: Use the LinkedIn Learning deep linking tool
• Method 2: Share the link from LinkedIn Learning
• Method 3: Copy the URL from the browser

You may choose the method based on the features summarised in the table below:

Method 1: Use the LinkedIn Learning Deep Linking Tool

This method will allow you to search and add a LinkedIn Learning course or video from within xSiTe. You will be able to track completion by the students as grade item is created for the course/video automatically once it is added to xSiTe. Students will also be able to access the contents from xSiTe seamlessly.

1. Navigate to the Module in xSiTe that you want to add the LinkedIn Learning course/video.
    
2. Click Add Existing Activities, and select LinkedIn Learning.
   
    
3. Search for the course/video in the LinkedIn Learning deep linking tool as shown below.
    
4. Choose the course/video that you want to add, then click Confirm.

Things to note:

• You can only add courses and videos using this method. To add other types of content from LinkedIn Learning, you can use method 2 or 3 below.
• LinkedIn Learning requires that learners watch 70% of a video without scrubbing, or fast-forwarding through a video, to earn a completion.

Method 2: Share the Link from LinkedIn Learning

1. Login to LinkedIn Learning and open the content that you want to add.
    
2. Click the Share icon in the top-right corner, and choose Link. Copy the link to the clipboard.
   
    
3. Navigate to the Module in xSiTe that you want to add the content.
    
4. Click New, and select Create a Link.
    
5. Enter the Title and paste the link to the URL field. Make sure the Open as External Resource box is checked. Then click Create.

Things to note:

• You will not be able to track course/video completion by the students.

Method 3: Copy the URL from the Browser

1.  Login to LinkedIn Learning and open the contents that you want to add.
2. Copy the URL from the address bar in your browser.
3. Navigate to the Module in xSiTe that you want to add the contents.
4. Click New, and select Create a Link.
5. Enter the Title and paste the URL. Make sure the Open as External Resource box is checked. Then click Create.

Things to note:

• You will not be able to track course/video completion by the students.
• Students will be shown the LinkedIn Learning homepage where they will be prompted to sign in to unlock the contents. (To allow students to access the contents seamlessly from xSiTe, you may append the URL to the link in the box below. Then, click Copy SSO Link to copy the new URL to the clipboard. Continue with step 3 above.)

Copy SSO Link

Instructors can curate customised learning contents that achieve specific learning goals. Learning Paths indicate a specific series of courses and videos to be taken in sequence, while Collections are a group of courses or videos that do not have a particular order.

Create Custom Collections

1. Login to LinkedIn Learning. 
2. Browse or search for the courses and videos that you want to add to a collection.
3. From the results page, click the More icon and select Add to collection.
4. Click Create collection.
5. Enter the Title and Description, then click Create.
6. Repeat step 3 to add more contents to the collection.
7. To share your collection, open the collection, then click Share.
8. Choose to share with Singapore Institute of Technology and Copy the link.
   
9. Use this link to incorporate the collection in xSiTe or any other websites.

Create Custom Learning Paths as a Curator

You must have a curator role in LinkedIn Learning in order to curate custom Learning Paths. Please contact the Library for the request.

Once you are assigned a curator role, you will see an Add icon at the top-right corner after you login to LinkedIn Learning. Follow the steps below to create learning paths.

1. Click the Add icon, then select Create learning path.
   
    
2. From the pop-up window, choose either Create new to create a learning path from scratch or Copy existing to copy a learning path from the library and modify it according to your requirements.
    
3. On the Details page, fill in the following information for the learning path, then click Create.
   • Add a default or custom thumbnail: Select the Default thumbnail image, or upload a Custom thumbnail image.
   • Add title: The title of your learning path.
   • Add description: A summary of what the learning path is about.
   • Set discoverability: Define who can find this content on their homepage and in search results. Or access via a shared link only.
   • Add skills: The skills you think learners will develop after watching the learning path.
   • Add custom tags: Tags that will help learners search for the learning path.
      
4. On the next page, add the section's Title and Description. Then, you can start searching and adding the LinkedIn Learning contents in the sequence that you want. Click Save & Publish.
    
5. To share your learning path, click Share. Select Share via LTI SSO link to copy the link to the clipboard.
   
    
6. Use this link to incorporate the learning path in xSiTe or any other websites.