Subject Guides: Pharmaceutical Engineering: Patents

Patent Search

Espacenet Patent Search
European Patent Office
Free Patents Online
Google Patents
Google Patents includes over 120 million patent publications from 100+ patent offices around the world, as well as many more technical documents and books indexed in Google Scholar and Google Books, and documents from the Prior Art Archive.
IPOS - POD (Patents Open Dossier)
Includes information related to IP applications and registrations at Intellectual Property Office of Singapore ("IPOS").
USPTO Patent Full-Text Databases
United States Patent and Trademark Office. Includes Patent Full-Text and Image Database (PatFT) and Patent Application Full-Text and Image Database (AppFT).
WIPO's Global Databases
World Intellectual Property Organization. Contains PATENTSCOPE, Global Brand Database, Global Design Database.

7-Step U.S. Patent Search Strategy Guide
CBT (computer based training) tutorial with a detailed review of the Seven Step Strategy.
The Patent and Trademark Resource Center Program also provides a CBT (computer based training) tutorial with a detailed review of the Seven Step Strategy. The current CBT covers searching using Cooperative Patent Classification (CPC).

Patent Searching Made Easy by David Hitchcock
ISBN: 9781413318722
Publication Date: 2013-04-30
A physicist, engineer, and patent searching expert, author David Hitchcock gives you the vocabulary, instructions and strategies you need to search for a patent quickly and easily. He explains how the PTO classifies different types of inventions, so that you can assign your idea to the right class, compare it to related ideas and then determine if it's novel enough to qualify for a patent. Patent Searching Made Easy shows you how do patent searches yourself, on the Internet, at little or no cost. Plus, you'll learn how to:
- verify the patent status of an idea
- prepare for online searches with the right hardware, software and computer skills
- access online patent searching resources
- narrow online searches with keywords and Boolean logic
- perform database searches at Patent and Trademark Resource Centers (PTRC)
- do prior art searches at PTRC
- search fee-based patent databases on the Internet
- search international patent offices
- do advanced searches at the PTO and PTRC
Patent Searching : Tools and Techniques by David Hunt (Editor); Long Nguyen (Editor); Matthew Rodgers (Editor)
ISBN: 9780471783794
Publication Date: 2007-02-02
E-book available for access