Subject Guides: Pharmaceutical Engineering: Databases

Databases

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Access Engineering provides online access to over 600 McGraw-Hill engineering books, with the latest editions of classics such as Perry’s Chemical Engineers Handbook, Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, and many more. The collection covers the areas of biomedical, chemical, civil, electrical, petroleum, environmental, industrial, mechanical, operations management, and software engineering.

Instructional videos, Interactive graphs, and downloadable calculators are also available for access.
- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
ACS Reagent Chemicals This link opens in a new window
An online reference guide that provides general physical properties and analytical uses for all reagent chemicals as well as guidelines for standard analytical methods.
- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
American Chemical Society (ACS) Journals This link opens in a new window
Access to all the journals published by American Chemical Society in the area of the chemical sciences.
- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
British Standards Online (BSOL) This link opens in a new window
SIT Library has a current subscription to 10 modules (03, 04, 05, 10, 24, 28, 29, 37,48, 81), which enable SIT authorized users to access approximately 13,000 historical, draft and current standards. In addition, there are over 30 ISO standards and IEC standards accessible from this platform.
- See Subject Guide on finding and using of standards.
- Please email the Library if you would like to request access for a standard with superseded or withdrawn status.
- BSI has been gradually implementing Digital Rights Management across its documents. In order to continue to download and print documents, you are required to download the FileOpen plug-in. Click here for more information.
- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access: Not accessible
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology This link opens in a new window
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology provides access to a wide scope of articles on chemical substances, including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field.
Please use the BROWSE BY TOPIC or BROWSE A-Z link to search for the topics you require. For full text availability, select article and click "Other versions of this article" to view a previous version in Library's collection.

- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
Knovel This link opens in a new window
An interactive full-text database of scientific and engineering handbooks and references from publishers such as CRC Press, Reed Elsevier, McGraw-Hill and John Wiley. Knovel provides quick, authoritative answers to technical questions.

See Subject Guide for details on accessing.
- OU Access: On campus and off campus accessible
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
PubMed This link opens in a new window
A free resource developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information. It provides online access to over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE (also searchable via OneSearch), life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the allied health, physical therapy, health education chemical sciences, bioengineering etc.
See PubMed Subject Guide and PubMed Online Training for search tips.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
It provides online access to more than 2000 ejournals and 1000 ebooks.
Subject collections include Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Computer Science, Engineering, Finance, Food Technology, Health Sciences, Hospitality Management etc.

Access coverage of Freedom Collection: 1995 - Present
Access coverage of the following ejournal collections: Vol 1 - present
- Business, Management and Accounting Collection
- Chemical Engineering collection
- Agricultural and Biological Sciences, including Supplement 1

See Subject Guide for details on accessing to ScienceDirect eBooks.
- OU Access: On campus accessible
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
SciFinder Discovery Platform This link opens in a new window
To access the SciFinder database, you need to create an account. If you are a new user, please click here to begin the registration.

SciFinder Discovery Platform incorporates the following solutions:

CAS SciFinder-n
SciFinder-n is a research discovery application that provides integrated access to references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences.

CAS Formulus
Formulus is an integrated formulations database and workflow solution with curated information from patents and journals spanning various industries.

CAS Analytical Methods
Analytical Methods provides a single source for searching and comparing the latest published analytical and synthetic scientific methods across multiple fields of study.

See training resources:
SciFinder-n training
Formulus Training
Analytical Methods Training
- OU Access: On campus and off campus accessible
- Alumni Access: Not accessible

On campus link
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
It provides access Springer ebook subject collections below:
- Business and Management (2005 - current)
- Chemistry and Materials Science ( 2005 - current)
- Engineering (2005 - current)
- Medicine (eBooks published in the last three years)
- Computer Science (eBooks published in the last three years)
- Intelligent Technologies and Robotics (eBooks published in the last three years)

In addition, SIT Library has subscription to over 20 Springer ejournals in the subject of health sciences, biotechnology and engineering.

See Subject Guide for details on accessing.
- OU Access: On campus and off campus accessible
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
Ullmann’s Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry This link opens in a new window
Ullmann’s Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry is a reference work detailing the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry. Subject areas include: inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, food chemistry, process engineering and unit operations, analytical methods, environmental protection, and many more.
Please use the BROWSE BY TOPIC or BROWSE A-Z link to search for the topics you require. For full text availability, select article and click "Other versions of this article" to view a previous version in Library's collection.

- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
USP-NF Online (USP Academic Connection) This link opens in a new window
The USP-NF is a combination of two compendia, the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) and the National Formulary (NF). This online reference resource contains standards for medicines, dosage forms, drug substances, excipients, biologics, compounded preparations, medical devices, dietary supplements, and other therapeutics.

Registration with SIT email is required for the first-time user of USP Academic Connection. Refer to this guide for the step-by-step instructions.
The complimentary institutional access is offered by USP.

See the help guide for detailed steps on performing a search.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science consists of Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index.

It is a curated collection of over 20,000 peer-reviewed, scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 science, social sciences, and humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings and Journal Citation Report are also accessible.

The followings are the Time Span for the collection:
• Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1985 - present)
• Emerging Sources Citation Index ( recent 5 years)
• Science Citation Index (1985 - present)
• Social Sciences Citation Index (1985 - present)
• Proceedings Citation Index (1990 - Present)
- OU Access: On campus and off campus accessible
- Alumni Access: Not accessible

On campus link
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Access to over 18,000 eBooks related to Business & Economics, Engineering, Food Science & Technology, Health Sciences, Information Technology, Medicine, Nursing, Social Sciences and Physical Sciences etc.

See Subject Guide for details on accessing.

It also provides access to over 50 subscribed journals in the subjects of finance & accounting, food technology and health sciences.
- OU Access: On campus and off campus accessible
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link