Subject Guides: Education: NLB eResources

Singapore NLB eResources

The National Library Board (NLB) offers access to a large number of electronic resources on-site at their libraries and/or from home.

To access these databases, all you need to do is to register for the myLibrary ID. Singaporeans, permanent residents and foreigners with FIN number can sign up as NLB members online at NLB's website.

Accessing NLB eResources

Databases

Below are some of the highlighted databases accessible from home that you may want to explore especially when you are doing multiple disciplinary projects that expands beyond your subject area.

EBSCOhost academic search complete
Designed for academic institutions, Academic Search Complete is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more. It includes peer-reviewed full-text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
JSTOR : the scholarly journal archive
JSTOR provides online access to archived contents of important scholarly journals, mainly in the humanities and social sciences. Researchers are able to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of back issues of journals and pages as they were originally printed. Existing titles are updated and new titles are added on an ongoing basis.
ProQuest central
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together in a smart interface, 30 complete databases covering over 160 subject areas, including Business, Health & Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and Language and Literature, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers.

Searching eJournals

NLB has a OneSearch-like function that allows you to search across some of their subscribed databases.

To search articles and books across multiple databases,

Go to http://eresources.nlb.gov.sg/Main/Browse
Enter keywords in the search box
Limit by format types on the right column or other options available on the left column
Remember to register and login with your myLibrary ID to access the resources.
Occasionally, you might see a Full Text Finder link instead. Click on the link and it will show you what are the databases that might link to this article.