Computer Engineering (Telematics)

This book covers the full spectrum of transport from land to sea and aircraft, and includes some research from the economic and human sciences. Clean Mobility and Intelligent Transport Systems covers topics including ICT for intelligent public transport systems; ITS and freight transport; steel and the green cars initiative; cooperative collision warning for vehicles; electronic toll collection systems; multi-sensor maritime surveillance; and aeronautical air-ground communications.

In a world with much abundance of wirelessly accessible devices, WSN deployments should capitalize on the resources already available in the region of deployment, and only augment it with the components required to meet new application requirements. However, if the required resources already exist in that region, WSN deployment converges to an assignment and scheduling scheme to accommodate for the new application given the existing resources. Such resources are polled from many fields, including multiple WSNs already in the field, static networks (WiFi, WiMAX, cellular, etc) in addition to municipal, industrial and mobile resources.The architecture, framework and pricing policy, as well as approaches for backward compatibility with existing deployments, are presented in this book.

A one-step, non-mathematical resource for clear explanations of electronics technology essentials--from AC theory and generation to wireless communications and microprocessors.

Mobility Models for Next Generation Wireless Networks: Ad Hoc, Vehicular and Mesh Networks provides the reader with an overview of mobility modelling, encompassing both theoretical and practical aspects related to the challenging mobility modelling task. Provides discussion of the most representative mobility models for major next generation wireless network application scenarios, including WLAN mesh networks, vehicular networks, wireless sensor networks, and opportunistic networks.

This volume is an up-to-date and comprehensive sensor reference guide to be used by engineers and scientists in industry, research, and academia to help with their sensor selection and system design.

Written by eminent scientists and active researchers and using a clear, matter-of-fact style, it covers advanced theories, methods, and applications in a variety of research areas, and explains key concepts in modeling, analysis, and control of chaotic and hyper chaotic systems. Topics include fractional chaotic systems, chaos control, chaos synchronization,memristors, jerk circuits, chaotic systems with hidden attractors, mechanical and biological chaos, and circuit realization of chaotic systems. The book further covers fuzzy logic controllers, evolutionary algorithms, swarm intelligence, and petri nets among other topics.

Advances in Intelligent Vehicles presents recent advances in intelligent vehicle technologies that enhance the safety, reliability, and performance of vehicles and vehicular networks and systems. Covers topics, including driver assistance systems; cooperative vehicle-highway systems; collision avoidance; pedestrian protection; image, radar and lidar signal processing; and V2V and V2I communications

This volume introduces new approaches in intelligent control area fromboth the viewpoints of theory and application. It consists of eleven contributions by prominent authors from all over the world and an introductory chapter.

This book describes models and/or algorithms designed to investigate evolutionary solutions to overcome important issues such as congestion control, routing, clustering, interconnection with long-term evolution (LTE) and LTE advanced cellular networks, traffic signal control and analysis of performances through simulation tools and the generation of vehicular mobility traces for network simulations.