Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Hospitality Business

Subject guide for hospitality related resources

Singapore NLB eResources

The National Library Board (NLB) offers access to a large number of electronic resources on-site at their libraries and/or from home.

To access these databases, all you need to do is to register for the myLibrary ID. Singaporeans, permanent residents and foreigners with FIN number can sign up as NLB members online at NLB's website.

Searching NLB eResources

NLB has a OneSearch-like function that allows you to search across some of their subscribed databases.

To search articles and books across multiple databases, 

  1. Go to https://eresources.nlb.gov.sg/main/Browse
  2. Enter keywords in the search box

     

  3. Limit by format types on the right column

     

  4. Remember to register and login with your myLibrary ID to access the resources.
  5. Occasionally, you might see a Full Text Finder link instead. Click on the link and it will show you what are the databases that might link to this article.

     

Databases

Below are some of the highlighted databases accessible from home that you may want to explore especially when you are doing multiple disciplinary projects that expands beyond your subject area.

Register for NLB's myLibrary ID to access.

eNewspapers and eMagazines

PressReader

Reading International eNewspapers and eMagazines with PressReader available in NLB, current issues from over 7,000 of the world’s leading publications. Some of the featured titles are listed below: 

The platform has the audio feature which allows you to listen to an article.

 

Access from mobile devices 

Step 1: Install PressReader free app on iOS or Android devices

Step 2: Install NLB Mobile app and login with your NLB account

Step 3: In your NLB mobile app, tap on  to launch the PressReader 

Step 4: Time's up? Missing the hotspot icon? Repeat step 3

Step 5: The issues are downloadable for offline reading 

 

Access from a PC or Mac

Step 1: Go to NLB eResources 

Step 2: Login with your NLB account

Step 3: Select "By A-Z" on the left panel

Step 4: Go to “P” and look for PressReader

 

Standards

SPRING Singapore forged a partnership with the National Library Singapore (NLB) to launch the Standards collection services at the Lee Kong Chian Reference Library (LKCRL) at Level 7. Members can access the full content of standards information in print format from SPRING Singapore on site at LKCRL.

For electronic copies of the Standards, members may access using any of the Multimedia Station terminals at NLB libraries, including the public libraries via NLB's eResources - Singapore and ISO Standards Collection Database at http://eresources.nlb.gov.sg/Main/Browse?startsWith=S.