Skip to main content

SIT Library

SIT Library: Helping you Discover, Connect and Innovate

Learning Services

Information Services

Can’t find some materials you are looking for? Need help using specific databases or resources? Not sure how to start your research assignment?

Contact the Library and we will be happy to help you!

Request a Research Consultation

Need a face-to-face meeting and a more detailed discussion regarding your research project.  Make an appointment with one of our professional librarians and they will be glad to assist you with your information needs in areas such as:

  • Search strategy for researching a topic. 
  • Identifying the relevant resources to use
  • Providing instruction on using specialized databases
  • Advice on the various citation managers 

Subject Guides

These online Course Subject Guides are created by the librarians, in collaboration with faculty, and tailored to the course’s requirements. The aim is to help students discover quality resources that are relevant to their course and to develop the information literacy skills. The guides may be accessed from the Library website or within the course module on the learning management system.

The Course Subject Guides:

  • Link to electronic and print materials for course reading
  • Highlight research tools such as databases and websites relevant to the subject
  • Provide instructions and tips on conducting efficient and effective research
  • Guidance on citation styles and creating bibliographies and reference management tools like Endnote and Mendeley  
  • Give quick contact links to the Library for assistance.

Library Instruction Session

The Library offers customized information literacy courses that are tailored to discipline specific information needs.  These are often embedded into the course curriculum and additional workshops are offered outside of class time.  Watch the News & Events page for upcoming workshops.

Citation Management 

The Library provides guides and self-help tools to assist Academic staff with their citation and referencing needs. It is also provides workshops for hands-on training with various citation managers. 

Make an appointment with one of our professional librarians and they will be glad to assist you with your information needs in areas such as:

  • Advice on search strategy for your research topic. 
  • Providing instruction on using specialized databases
  • Advice on the various citation managers 

New E-Resources

Click here to find out new E-Resources of our library.

Library Facilities

Click here to find out more on Library Facilities.

Library Collection & Borrowing

Course Reserve Collection

Items such as books, journals, and videos that are selected for use in a particular course are placed in the Course Reserve section of the Library. The loan period for these items are limited to allow more students to access the materials.

Recommend a Purchase

You can recommend book, journal or AV materials for library to purchase. Simply fill in this request form.

Loan Privileges & Fines

Click here for Loan Privileges & Fines.

Borrowing/Returning

Click here to learn how to borrow and return library items.

Renew and Reserve

Click here to learn how to renew and reserve library items.

Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery

You may send a request to the Library if a book or article is not available in the Library’s collection,

This service is available to all SIT students.  For articles request, please note:

  • Final year students may request up to a maximum of 10 articles per academic year, per student.
  • Students may request up to 5 articles per academic year, per student.  All requests will be evaluated on a case-by-case basis.  
  • Additional requests are subject to approval.

Please submit your request here.

It will take 2 - 3 working days. If there are any delays we will be sure to let you know.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions?