Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.


What is Eurocodes

The EN Eurocodes are a series of 10 European Standards, EN 1990 - EN 1999, providing a common approach for the design of buildings and other civil engineering works and construction products. They are the recommended means of giving a presumption of conformity with the basic requirements of the Construction Products Regulation for construction works and products. The EN Eurocodes include 10 standards (EN 1990 - 1999) covering various subjects related to construction.

EN 1990 Eurocode: Basis of structural design
EN 1991 Eurocode 1: Actions on structures
EN 1992 Eurocode 2: Design of concrete structures
EN 1993 Eurocode 3: Design of steel structures
EN 1994 Eurocode 4: Design of composite steel and concrete structures
EN 1995 Eurocode 5: Design of timber structures
EN 1996 Eurocode 6: Design of masonry structures
EN 1997 Eurocode 7: Geotechnical design
EN 1998 Eurocode 8: Design of structures for earthquake resistance
EN 1999 Eurocode 9: Design of aluminium structures

Eurocodes made up of 10 European Standards for structural design and under each of the codes, it is further divided into a number of Parts covering specific subject e.g. Part 1-1 covers the design of buildings and other civil engineering structures, Part 1-2 covers fire design.

Figure 1. Eurocodes Groups
eurcodes grps

Adapted from "Links between the Eurocodes" by European Commission, n.d. Retrieved from

Finding Eurocodes

Eurocodes are adopted quite extensively in Singapore Standards pertaining to structural design, concrete and steel structures either fully or in parts. You can search for such standards in Singapore Standards Online using Eurocode in the search box under "Text" or "Title". Standards that are identical implementation with Eurocodes start with SS EN and will have Eurocode in the standard title. The same applies to Eurocodes adopted by the British Standards.