Subject Guides: Standards: Standards @ SIT

OneSearch

Advanced Search | Journals | Databases | Equipment | Course Readings

Online Standards

ASTM Standards Online This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 13,000 online standards covering a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum etc.
See Subject Guide on finding and using of standards.
- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
British Standards Online (BSOL) This link opens in a new window
SIT Library has a current subscription to 10 modules (03, 04, 05, 10, 24, 28, 29, 37,48, 81), which enable SIT authorized users to access approximately 13,000 historical, draft and current standards. In addition, there are over 30 ISO standards and IEC standards accessible from this platform.
- See Subject Guide on finding and using of standards.
- Please email the Library if you would like to request access for a standard with superseded or withdrawn status.
- BSI has been gradually implementing Digital Rights Management across its documents. In order to continue to download and print documents, you are required to download the FileOpen plug-in. Click here for more information.
- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access: Not accessible
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
It provides access to quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computing, biotechnology, telecommunications, power and energy. SIT's subscription includes full-text access to the following collections:
- IEEE published and historical standards
- IEEE Journals & Magazines
- IEEE Conference Proceedings
- IET Journals, Magazines and Transactions
See Subject Guide on finding and using of standards.
- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
Singapore Standards Online This link opens in a new window
It provides full-text access to over 600 Singapore Standards produced by Spring Singapore. The system will logout user after 15 minutes of inactivity.
*10 concurrent users

See Subject Guide on finding and using of standards.
- OU Access: On campus and off campus accessible
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
TechStreet This link opens in a new window
Access to standards published by American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) for the design and maintenance of indoor environments.

You would need to download the FileOpen plugin and have it installed to read the PDF. If you are unable to read PDFs using the FileOpen plugin in the Google Chrome browser,follow these steps. See Subject Guide on finding and using of standards.

Please note that PDF download of NFPA(Fire) standards is not available. See FAQ for details.
- OU Access: On campus and off campus accessible
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link

CIRIA Guidance

The majority of CIRIA research activities result in best practice publications, many of which have been adopted as the standard for excellence in their respective areas. Click here for free CIRIA publications.

Control of cracking caused by restrained deformation in concrete (C766) This guide provides a method for estimating the magnitude of crack-inducing strain and the risk of cracking at both early age and over the long term. Where cracking is predicted, guidance is provided on the design of reinforcement to control crack widths.
Groundwater control: design and practice (second edition) (C750D) The guide explains the principles and gives practical information for the effective and safe design, installation and operation of such works.
Guidance on embedded retaining wall design (C760) This publication provides good practice guidance on the selection and design of vertical embedded retaining walls to satisfy the requirements of Eurocodes. It covers temporary and permanent cantilever, anchored, single and multi-propped retaining walls that are supported by embedment in soft soils, stiff clays, other competent soils and soft rocks.
Temporary propping of deep excavations - guidance on design (C517) The guidance covers single and multi-propped excavations of varied geometry, flexible and stiff walls, and the range of ground conditions found in the UK. It considers temperature effects, buildability, use of the Observational Method, instrumentation of props, and choice of temporary propping systems.

Print Standards

The Library has a limited number of standards in print. You can search for these print standards via OneSearch using the standard number e.g.NSF/ANSI 49:2014.

Click here to search for more standards.

Standards

OneSearch

OneSearch

Online Standards

Print Standards

Videos