Subject Guides: Chemical Engineering: Databases

Books and Articles

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Access Engineering provides online access to over 600 McGraw-Hill engineering books, with the latest editions of classics such as Perry’s Chemical Engineers Handbook, Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, and many more. The collection covers the areas of biomedical, chemical, civil, electrical, petroleum, environmental, industrial, mechanical, operations management, and software engineering.

Instructional videos, Interactive graphs, and downloadable calculators are also available for access.
- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
ACS Reagent Chemicals This link opens in a new window
An online reference guide that provides general physical properties and analytical uses for all reagent chemicals as well as guidelines for standard analytical methods.
- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
American Chemical Society (ACS) Journals This link opens in a new window
Access to all the journals published by American Chemical Society in the area of the chemical sciences.
- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
Knovel This link opens in a new window
An interactive full-text database of scientific and engineering handbooks and references from publishers such as CRC Press, Reed Elsevier, McGraw-Hill and John Wiley. Knovel provides quick, authoritative answers to technical questions. Click here for a list of books relating to Chemistry and Chemical Engineering.

See Subject Guide on how to access eBooks.
- OU Access: On campus and off campus accessible
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
PubMed This link opens in a new window
A free resource developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information. It provides online access to over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE (also searchable via OneSearch), life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the allied health, physical therapy, health education chemical sciences, bioengineering etc.
See PubMed Subject Guide and PubMed Online Training for search tips.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
It provides online access to more than 2000 ejournals and 1000 ebooks.
Subject collections include Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Computer Science, Engineering, Finance, Food Technology, Health Sciences, Hospitality Management etc.

Access coverage of Freedom Collection: 1995 - Present
Access coverage of the following ejournal collections: Vol 1 - present
- Business, Management and Accounting Collection
- Chemical Engineering collection
- Agricultural and Biological Sciences, including Supplement 1

See Subject Guide for details on accessing to ScienceDirect eBooks.
- OU Access: On campus accessible
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
SciFinder Discovery Platform This link opens in a new window
To access the SciFinder database, you need to create an account. If you are a new user, please click here to begin the registration.

SciFinder Discovery Platform incorporates the following solutions:

CAS SciFinder-n
SciFinder-n is a research discovery application that provides integrated access to references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences.

CAS Formulus
Formulus is an integrated formulations database and workflow solution with curated information from patents and journals spanning various industries.

CAS Analytical Methods
Analytical Methods provides a single source for searching and comparing the latest published analytical and synthetic scientific methods across multiple fields of study.

See training resources:
SciFinder-n training
Formulus Training
Analytical Methods Training
- OU Access: On campus and off campus accessible
- Alumni Access: Not accessible

On campus link
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science consists of Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index.

It is a curated collection of over 20,000 peer-reviewed, scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 science, social sciences, and humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings and Journal Citation Report are also accessible.

The followings are the Time Span for the collection:
• Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1985 - present)
• Emerging Sources Citation Index ( recent 5 years)
• Science Citation Index (1985 - present)
• Social Sciences Citation Index (1985 - present)
• Proceedings Citation Index (1990 - Present)
- OU Access: On campus and off campus accessible
- Alumni Access: Not accessible

On campus link
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Access to over 18,000 eBooks related to Business & Economics, Engineering, Food Science & Technology, Health Sciences, Information Technology, Medicine, Nursing, Social Sciences and Physical Sciences etc.

See Subject Guide for details on accessing.

It also provides access to over 50 subscribed journals in the subjects of finance & accounting, food technology and health sciences.
- OU Access: On campus and off campus accessible
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link

News

Financial Times Online (FT.com) This link opens in a new window
The Financial Times is one of the leading international business dailies. It provides in depth coverage of statistical issues and original data analysis, with a special emphasis on business and economic news.

A one-time registration and creation of password is required for first time sign-in to the SIT subscription, but no longer required after the account has been set up. For subsequent access, just click the above FT.com link and sign in with SIT credential.

The content is also accessible via mobile apps. The step-by-step guide is available here.

NOTE: For research or teaching purposes only. For dissemination or reproduction rights, see FT's Help Centre on Copyright Policy.
- OU Access: On campus and off campus accessible
- Alumni Access: Not accessible
Business Times Online This link opens in a new window
Access business & financial news including analysis and opinion on business stories etc at your fingertips. E-paper edition of the newspaper is also available for reading. Please access this resource with Chrome browser.

7 concurrent users. Click CONTINUE if you see the message "Your account is used on too many devices" prompted.
- OU Access: On campus and off campus accessible
- Alumni Access: Not accessible
Straits Times Online This link opens in a new window
Access Singapore news and international news at your fingertips. E-paper edition of the newspaper is also available for reading. Please access this resource with Chrome browser.

10 concurrent users. Click CONTINUE if you see the message "Your account is used on too many devices" prompted.
- OU Access: On campus and off campus accessible
- Alumni Access: Not accessible

Access ST ePaper