Skip to Main Content

Dietetics & Nutrition

Textbooks Year Tab

Yr 1 Yr 2 Yr 3 Yr 4

eBook help Guide

Anatomy and Physiology 1 (HSC1001)

Gray's Anatomy for Students by Richard Drake; A. Wayne Vogl; Adam W. M. Mitchell
Call Number: QM23 Dra 2020
ISBN: 9780323393041
Publication Date: 2019-02-22
Print book and E-book available for access
Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology, Global Edition by Frederic H Martini; Judi L Nath; Edwin F Bartholomew
ISBN: 9781292229867
Publication Date: 2019
E-book available for access
Human physiology: from cells to systems by Lauralee Sherwood
Call Number: QP34.5 She 2016
ISBN: 9781285866932
Publication Date: 2016
Print book and E-book available for access
McMinn and Abrahams' Clinical Atlas of Human Anatomy by Peter H Abrahams; Jonathan D Spratt
Call Number: QM25 Mcm 2013
ISBN: 9780723436973
Publication Date: 2013
Print book and E-book available for access
Atlas of Human Anatomy by Frank H. Netter
ISBN: 9780323393225
Publication Date: 2018-02-27
E-book available for access
Color Atlas of Anatomy by Johannes W. Rohen; Elke Lütjen-Drecoll; Chichiro Yokochi
Call Number: QM25 Roh 2016
ISBN: 9781451193183
Publication Date: 2015-02-12
Print book and E-book available for access
Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology by Kim E. Barrett; Susan M. Barman; Scott Boitano; Heddwen L. Brooks
Call Number: QP34.5 Bar 2016
ISBN: 9780071825108
Publication Date: 2015-10-28
Print book available for access
Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology by John E. Hall
ISBN: 9780323597128
Publication Date: 2020-06-16
E-book available for access
Clinically Oriented Anatomy by Keith L. Moore; Anne M. R. Agur; Arthur F. Dalley
ISBN: 9781496347213
Publication Date: 2017-09-13
E-book available for access
Snell's Clinical Anatomy by Regions by Lawrence E. Wineski
ISBN: 9781496345646
Publication Date: 2018-11-15
E-book available for access

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
This database contains more than 300 three-dimensional videos of real human anatomic specimens in their natural colors. Coverage includes upper extremity, lower extremity, trunk, head & neck, and internal organs. This resource also offers self-assessment/Q&A and PDF transcripts.
- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link

Anatomy and Physiology 2 (HSC1002)

Gray's Anatomy for Students by Richard Drake; A. Wayne Vogl; Adam W. M. Mitchell
Call Number: QM23 Dra 2020
ISBN: 9780323393041
Publication Date: 2019-02-22
Print book and E-book available for access
Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology, Global Edition by Frederic H Martini; Judi L Nath; Edwin F Bartholomew
ISBN: 9781292229867
Publication Date: 2019
E-book available for access
Human physiology: from cells to systems by Lauralee Sherwood
Call Number: QP34.5 She 2016
ISBN: 9781285866932
Publication Date: 2016
Print book and E-book available for access
McMinn and Abrahams' Clinical Atlas of Human Anatomy by Peter H Abrahams; Jonathan D Spratt
Call Number: QM25 Mcm 2013
ISBN: 9780723436973
Publication Date: 2013
Print book and E-book available for access
Atlas of Human Anatomy by Frank H. Netter
ISBN: 9780323393225
Publication Date: 2018-02-27
E-book available for access
Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology by Kim E. Barrett; Susan M. Barman; Scott Boitano; Heddwen L. Brooks
Call Number: QP34.5 Bar 2016
ISBN: 9780071825108
Publication Date: 2015-10-28
Print book available for access
Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology by John E. Hall
ISBN: 9780323597128
Publication Date: 2020-06-16
E-book available for access
Clinically Oriented Anatomy by Keith L. Moore; Anne M. R. Agur; Arthur F. Dalley
ISBN: 9781496347213
Publication Date: 2017-09-13
E-book available for access
Snell's Clinical Anatomy by Regions by Lawrence E. Wineski
ISBN: 9781496345646
Publication Date: 2018-11-15
E-book available for access

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
This database contains more than 300 three-dimensional videos of real human anatomic specimens in their natural colors. Coverage includes upper extremity, lower extremity, trunk, head & neck, and internal organs. This resource also offers self-assessment/Q&A and PDF transcripts.
- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link

Psychological and Sociological Perspectives for Health Sciences (HSC1004)

Psychology, Global Edition by Saundra K Ciccarelli; J Noland White
ISBN: 9781292353548
Publication Date: 2021
E-book available for access
Sociology : a global introduction by John J. Macionis; Kenneth Plummer
Call Number: HM586 Mac 2012
ISBN: 9780273727910
Publication Date: 2012
Print book and E-book available for access
The Sociology of Healthcare by Alan Clarke
ISBN: 9781405858496
Publication Date: 2010-01-26
E-book available for access

Research - Critical Appraisal of Literature (HSC1005)

Evidence-Based Practice Across the Health Professions by Tammy Hoffmann; Sally Bennett; Chris Del Mar
Call Number: R737.7 Hof 2013
ISBN: 9780729541350
Publication Date: 2013-08-21
Print book and E-book available for access
Foundations of Clinical Research by Leslie G. Portney
ISBN: 9780803661134
Publication Date: 2020-01-17
E-book available for access
Qualitative Research and Evaluation Methods by Michael Quinn Patton
Call Number: H62 Pat 2015
ISBN: 9781412972123
Publication Date: 2014-11-11
Print book available for access
Qualitative Research Methodologies for Occupational Science and Therapy by Shoba Nayar (Editor); Mandy Stanley (Editor)
ISBN: 9780415828673
Publication Date: 2014-11-26
E-book available for access
Qualitative Inquiry and Research Design by John W. Creswell; Cheryl N. Poth
Call Number: H61 Cre 2018
ISBN: 9781506361178
Publication Date: 2017-04-10
Print book available for access
Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: Essentials of Evidence-Based Clinical Practice, Third Edition by Gordon Guyatt
Call Number: R723.7 Use 2015
ISBN: 9780071794152
Publication Date: 2015-01-05
Print book available for access
Interpreting the Medical Literature by Stephen H. Gehlbach
Call Number: R118.6 Geh 2006
ISBN: 9780071437899
Publication Date: 2006-03-10
Print book available for access
How to Read a Paper by Trisha Greenhalgh
ISBN: 9781119484738
Publication Date: 2019-04-05
E-book available for access
Studying a study & testing a test : reading evidence-based health research by Richard K. Riegelman
Call Number: R118.6 Rie 2013
ISBN: 9780781774260
Publication Date: 2012-06-30
Print book available for access

Health Systems: Singapore's Perspectives (HSC1009)

Affordable Excellence : The Singapore Healthcare Story by William A. Haseltine
Call Number: RA410 Has 2013
ISBN: 9780815724162
Publication Date: 2013-04-30
Print book and E-book available for access
A Brief History of Neoliberalism by David Harvey
ISBN: 9780191536182
Publication Date: 2005
E-book available for access
Commonwealth Health Partnerships 2014 by Commonwealth Secretariat
ISBN: 9781908609113
Publication Date: 2014-05-27
Freely available online
Pp. 44-47, The equity of universal health coverage: Reflections from Singapore
Comparative Health Policy by Robert H. Blank; Viola Burau
Call Number: RA394 Bla 2014
ISBN: 9781137023568
Publication Date: 2013-10-09
Print book and E-book available for access
Myth or magic : the Singapore healthcare system by Lim, Jeremy
Call Number: RA395.S59 Lim 2013
ISBN: 9789810773625
Publication Date: 2013
Print book available for access
Singapore's health care system : what 50 years have achieved by Chien Earn Lee; K. Satku
Call Number: RA395.S59 Sin 2016
ISBN: 9789814696043
Publication Date: 2015-10-01
Print book and E-book available for access
Understanding Health Policy: a Clinical Approach by Kevin Grumbach; Thomas S. Bodenheimer
Call Number: RA395.A3 Bod 2016
ISBN: 9781259584756
Publication Date: 2016-02-29
Print book and E-book available for access
The World Health Report 2000 by World Health Organization Staff
ISBN: 9789241561983
Publication Date: 2000-06-01
Freely available online

Agency for Integrated Care (AIC)
Formerly Singapore Silver Pages. The website gives caregivers, seniors, and Community Care partners resources on senior outreach and engagement, community-based care, healthcare, community mental health, financial support, and caregiving.
Insights Health Associates (IHA)
National Council of Social Service (NCSS)
SG Enable
SG Enable is an agency dedicated to enabling persons with disabilities.
Singapore's Healthcare System (Ministry of Health)
WHO: Health system governance
WHO: World health report

Biochemistry (DTN1001 / FTE1016)

Biochemistry : concepts and connections by Appling, Dean Ramsay author.; Anthony-Cahill, Spencer J., author.; Mathews, Christopher K
Call Number: QP514.2 App 201
ISBN: 9781292267203
Publication Date: 2019
Ebook and print book available for access
Marks' Basic Medical Biochemistry by LIEBERMAN; Michael Lieberman
Call Number: QP514.2 Lie 2018
ISBN: 9781496324818
Publication Date: 2017-07-18
Print book and E-book available for access
Voet's principles of biochemistry by Donald Voet, Charlotte W. Pratt, Judith G. Voet
ISBN: 9781119451662
Publication Date: 2017
E-book available for access

Human Nutrition (DTN1002)

Introduction to Human Nutrition by Susan A. Lanham-New (Editor); Thomas R. Hill (Editor); Alison M. Gallagher (Editor); Hester H. Vorster (Editor)
ISBN: 9781119476979
Publication Date: 2019-12-23
E-book available for access
Nutrition: an applied approach by Janice J. Thompson; Melinda Manore
Call Number: QP141 Tho 2018
ISBN: 9780134516233
Publication Date: 2017-01-05
Print book available for access
Understanding Nutrition by Eleanor Noss Whitney; Sharon Rady Rolfes
ISBN: 9781337392693
Publication Date: 2018-01-01
E-book available for access
Dietary Reference Values of Food Energy and Nutrients for the United Kingdom by HMSO Staff; Great Britain: Department of Health
Call Number: TX350 Die 1991
ISBN: 0113213972
Publication Date: 1991-07-01
Print book available for access
Manual of Dietetic Practice by Joan Gandy (Editor)
ISBN: 9781119235927
Publication Date: 2019-08-26
E-book available for access
McCance and Widdowson's the Composition of Foods by Food Standard Agency Staff; Public Health England Staff (Other Primary Creator); Institute of Food Research Staff (Compiled by)
Call Number: TX531 Mcc 2015
ISBN: 9781849736367
Publication Date: 2014-09-05
Print book available for access
Food Portion Sizes by Alison Mills
Call Number: TX360 Foo 2015
ISBN: 9780112429616
Publication Date: 2005
Print book available for access

SACN Dietary Reference Values for Energy
The Scientific Advisory Committee on Nutrition report on the DRVs for energy.
HealthHub: Recommended Dietary Allowances (RDA)
RDA refer to the recommended daily levels of nutrients to meet the needs of nearly all healthy individuals in a particular age and gender group.
International Network of Food Data Systems (INFOODS)
INFOODS is organized into several regional data centers with a global coordinator.
Health Promotion Board: Energy and Composition of Food (ENCF)
Search for the energy and nutrient composition of basic ingredients and common local food.
WHO: Dietary recommendations/Nutritional requirements list of publications
Establishing human nutrient requirements for worldwide application.
USDA Food Composition Database
Food and nutrient database for dietary Studies.

Individual and Environmental Influences on Eating Behaviours (DTN1003)

Food & Society : Principles and Paradoxes by Amy E. Guptill; Denise A. Copelton; Betsy Lucal
ISBN: 9781509501854
Publication Date: 2017-01-05
Ebook available for access
Psychology of Eating by Emily Splane; Neil Rowland
ISBN: 9780367263263
Publication Date: 2019-11-29
E-book available for access
A Sociology of Food and Nutrition by John Germov; Laura Williams
Call Number: GT2855 Soc 2017
ISBN: 9780190304676
Publication Date: 2017-03-09
Print book available for access
Introducing the Sociology of Food and Eating by Anne Murcott
Call Number: GT2850 Mur 2019
ISBN: 9781350022027
Publication Date: 2019-03-21
Print book available for access
Food, Foodways, and Foodscapes by Lily Kong; Vineeta Sinha
Call Number: GT2853.S55 Foo 2016
ISBN: 9789814641210
Publication Date: 2015-10-01
Print book available for access
The Psychology of Food Choice by Richard Shepherd; Monique Raats
ISBN: 9780851990323
Publication Date: 2006-08-29
E-book available for access
The Psychology of Eating by Jane Ogden
ISBN: 9781405191210
Publication Date: 2010-02-01
E-book available for access

Food Science (DTN1004)

Essentials of Food Science by Vickie A. Vaclavik; Elizabeth W. Christian
ISBN: 9781461491378
Publication Date: 2013-12-06
E-book available for access
Dictionary of Food Ingredients by Robert S. Igoe
ISBN: 9781441997128
Publication Date: 2011-06-29
E-book available for access
Food Science and Technology by Geoffrey Campbell-Platt (Editor)
ISBN: 9780470673423
Publication Date: 2017-11-29
E-book available for access
Fennema's Food Chemistry by Srinivasan Damodaran (Editor); Kirk L. Parkin (Editor)
ISBN: 9781482243611
Publication Date: 2017-03-06
E-book available for access
Food Analysis by S. Suzanne Nielsen (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319457741
Publication Date: 2017-06-16
E-book available for access
Food Microbiology by Michael P. Doyle (Editor); Francisco Diez-Gonzalez (Editor); Colin Hill (Editor)
ISBN: 9781555819965
Publication Date: 2019-06-18
E-book available for access

Nutrition throughout the Lifespan (DTN1005)

Nutrition Through the Life Cycle by Judith E. Brown
ISBN: 9781337919333
Publication Date: 2019-01-04
Print book and E-book available for access
Nutrition: an applied approach by Janice J. Thompson; Melinda Manore
Call Number: QP141 Tho 2018
ISBN: 9780134516233
Publication Date: 2017-01-05
Print book available for access
Understanding Nutrition by Eleanor Noss Whitney; Sharon Rady Rolfes
ISBN: 9781337392693
Publication Date: 2018-01-01
E-book available for access
Dietary Reference Values of Food Energy and Nutrients for the United Kingdom by HMSO Staff; Great Britain: Department of Health
Call Number: TX350 Die 1991
ISBN: 0113213972
Publication Date: 1991-07-01
Print book available for access
Manual of Dietetic Practice by Joan Gandy (Editor)
ISBN: 9781119235927
Publication Date: 2019-08-26
E-book available for access
McCance and Widdowson's the Composition of Foods by Food Standard Agency Staff; Public Health England Staff (Other Primary Creator); Institute of Food Research Staff (Compiled by)
Call Number: TX531 Mcc 2015
ISBN: 9781849736367
Publication Date: 2014-09-05
Print book available for access
Food Portion Sizes by Alison Mills
Call Number: TX360 Foo 2015
ISBN: 9780112429616
Publication Date: 2005
Print book available for access
Introduction to Human Nutrition by Susan A. Lanham-New (Editor); Thomas R. Hill (Editor); Alison M. Gallagher (Editor); Hester H. Vorster (Editor)
ISBN: 9781119476979
Publication Date: 2019-12-23
E-book available for access
Dietary Supplements and Functional Foods by Geoffrey P. Webb
ISBN: 9781444332407
Publication Date: 2011-04-18
E-book available for access

SACN Dietary Reference Values for Energy
The Scientific Advisory Committee on Nutrition report on the DRVs for energy.
HealthHub: Recommended Dietary Allowances (RDA)
RDA refer to the recommended daily levels of nutrients to meet the needs of nearly all healthy individuals in a particular age and gender group.
International Network of Food Data Systems (INFOODS)
INFOODS is organized into several regional data centers with a global coordinator.
Health Promotion Board: Energy and Composition of Food (ENCF)
Search for the energy and nutrient composition of basic ingredients and common local food.
WHO: Dietary recommendations/Nutritional requirements list of publications
Establishing human nutrient requirements for worldwide application.
USDA Food Composition Database
Food and nutrient database for dietary Studies.