Subject Guides: Engineering: Technical Reports

What is Technical Report

Technical or scientific reports describe the progress or results of scientific or technical research and development. They are often published by government agencies. Publication and dissemination of technical reports has never been centrally coordinated; therefore, they can be particularly difficult to identify and locate. Technical reports usually appear as part of a numbered series from the issuing agency. These numbers are important and are often the easiest way to find a specific report or document. Each agency has its own numbering system, however technical report number systems follow some common forms.

Technical Report Writing

How to Write Technical Reports by Heike Hering The 2nd edition was fundamentally changed and adopted to be displayed not only in book form, but also on all kinds of electronic devices. The following sections have been reduced or skipped: Tables, Scheme and diagram, Perspective drawing, Technical drawing and bill of materials, Pictorial re-arrangement of text, Copyright and copyright laws, Details about text accentuation, Automatic creation of indexes, tables, lists, labels and cross-references, Creating slides with presentation graphics programs.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9783662581056
Publication Date: 2019-01-15
Writing for Science and Engineering by Heather Silyn-Roberts This book explains in plain English the steps to writing abstracts, theses, journal papers, funding bids, literature reviews, and more. The book also examines preparing seminar and conference presentations in Engineering and Sciences.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780080982854
Publication Date: 2012-10-12
How To Prepare Defense-Related Scientific and Technical Reports by Walter W. Rice This book provides thorough and specific guidance on how to prepare defense-related scientific and technical reports, including classified scientific and technical reports.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780470128411
Publication Date: 2007-03-16
User Guides, Manuals and Technical Writing by Adrian Wallwork This book is intended for anyone whose job involves writing formal documentation. It is aimed at non-native speakers of English, but should also be of use for native speakers who have no training in technical writing. Technical writing is a skill that you can learn and this book outlines some simple ideas for writing clear documentation that will reflect well on your company, its image and its brand.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781493906406
Publication Date: 2014-06-20

Links

AERADE Reports Archive
Aerade Reports Archive incorporates more than ten thousand, historically significant, digitised reports from the Aeronautical Research Council (ARC) - the principal agency in Great Britain with a major output of reports on matters aeronautical, which existed from 1909-1979, and published reports until 1980.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)
DTIC reports to the Assistant Secretary of Defense For Research and Engineering ASD(RE). Their mission is to provide essential, technical research, development, testing and evaluation (RDT&E) information rapidly, accurately and reliably to support US Department of Defense (DoD).
Department of Energy (DOE) Data Explorerer
Science, technology, engineering research and data collections from the US Department of Energy (DOE). Registered users see material details, including calculations for band structure, density of states, x-ray diffraction, elasticity, and user-submitted calculated and experimental data. Registration is free.
Electrical Engineering & Computer Science (EECS)
Technical reports by The Berkeley Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences that document work in progress, early versions of results that are eventually published in more traditional media, and supplemental information such as long proofs, software documentation, code listings, or elaborated examples.
NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)
NTRS provides the public access to NASA’s current and historical technical literature and engineering results.
more...less...
It includes the NACA collection, the NASA collection, and the NASA Image eXchange. Over 500,000 aerospace-related citations, over 200,000 full-text online documents, and over 500,000 images and videos are available through a common interface.
National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP)
EPA's electronic documents site allows you to search, view and print, including full images of all original pages and full-text, from a collection of over 11,000 archival and current documents.
more...less...
Includes 400 Series (Air and Radiation, OAR), 500 Series (Solid Waste and Emergency Response, OSWER), 600 Series (Research and Development, ORB), 700 Series (Prevention, Pesticides and Toxic Substances, OPPTS) and 800 Series (Water, OW) and more.
National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
NTIS provides one of the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information.
The Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL)
identifies, acquires, catalogs, digitizes and provides unrestricted access to U.S. government agency technical reports.
Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS)
TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s TRIS Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database.