Subject Guides: Food Technology: Databases

Below is a selected list of library databases.

This list is not exhaustive; click here to access other databases.

Databases Relevant to Food Technology

AACC International Approved Methods of Analysis
The AACC Approved Methods of Analysis, 11th Edition, includes over 350 methods and enhancements. Designed to assist users in understanding or performing specific methods better and faster, these include built-in calculators, videos, spreadsheets, co-lab reports, audio PowerPoints, and color images.

For research or teaching purposes only. For dissemination or reproduction rights, see Terms of Use.
- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
AccessEngineering
Access Engineering provides online access to over 600 McGraw-Hill engineering books, with the latest editions of classics such as Perry’s Chemical Engineers Handbook, Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, and many more. The collection covers the areas of biomedical, chemical, civil, electrical, petroleum, environmental, industrial, mechanical, operations management, and software engineering.

Instructional videos, Interactive graphs, and downloadable calculators are also available for access.
- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
AGRIS (International System for Agricultural Science and Technology)
AGRIS is a free, multilingual database created by the Food and Agriculture Organization. It provides access to 8 million bibliographic references on agricultural research and technology & links to related data resources on the Web.
American Chemical Society (ACS) Journals
Access to all the journals published by American Chemical Society in the area of the chemical sciences.
- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
ASTM Standards Online
Access to more than 13,000 online standards covering a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum etc.
See Subject Guide on finding and using of standards.
- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
British Standards Online (BSOL)
SIT Library has a current subscription to 10 modules (03, 04, 05, 10, 24, 28, 29, 37,48, 81), which enable SIT authorized users to access approximately 13,000 historical, draft and current standards. In addition, there are over 30 ISO standards and IEC standards accessible from this platform.
- See Subject Guide on finding and using of standards.
- Please email the Library if you would like to request access for a standard with superseded or withdrawn status.
- BSI has been gradually implementing Digital Rights Management across its documents. In order to continue to download and print documents, you are required to download the FileOpen plug-in. Click here for more information.
- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access: Not accessible
Films On Demand
It provides academic videos in the subject areas of allied health, career management, education, engineering, hospitality & tourism, languages, sociology, sciences, technology and more.
- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
Knovel
An interactive full-text database of scientific and engineering handbooks and references from publishers such as CRC Press, Reed Elsevier, McGraw-Hill and John Wiley. Click here for a list of books relating to Food science.

See Subject Guide on how to access eBooks.
- OU Access: On campus and off campus accessible
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
ScienceDirect
It provides online access to more than 2000 ejournals and 1000 ebooks.
Subject collections include Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Computer Science, Engineering, Finance, Food Technology, Health Sciences, Hospitality Management etc.

Access coverage of Freedom Collection: 1995 - Present
Access coverage of the following ejournal collections: Vol 1 - present
- Business, Management and Accounting Collection
- Chemical Engineering collection
- Agricultural and Biological Sciences, including Supplement 1

See Subject Guide for details on accessing to ScienceDirect eBooks.
- OU Access: On campus accessible
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
SciFinder Discovery Platform
To access the SciFinder database, you need to create an account. If you are a new user, please click here to begin the registration.

SciFinder Discovery Platform incorporates the following solutions:

CAS SciFinder-n
SciFinder-n is a research discovery application that provides integrated access to references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences.

CAS Formulus
Formulus is an integrated formulations database and workflow solution with curated information from patents and journals spanning various industries.

CAS Analytical Methods
Analytical Methods provides a single source for searching and comparing the latest published analytical and synthetic scientific methods across multiple fields of study.

See training resources:
SciFinder-n training
Formulus Training
Analytical Methods Training
- OU Access: On campus and off campus accessible
- Alumni Access: Not accessible

On campus link
Singapore Standards Online
It provides full-text access to over 600 Singapore Standards produced by Spring Singapore. The system will logout user after 15 minutes of inactivity.
*10 concurrent users

See Subject Guide on finding and using of standards.
- OU Access: On campus and off campus accessible
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
SpringerLink
It provides access Springer ebook subject collections below:
- Business and Management (2005 - current)
- Chemistry and Materials Science ( 2005 - current)
- Engineering (2005 - current)
- Medicine (eBooks published in the last three years)
- Computer Science (eBooks published in the last three years)
- Intelligent Technologies and Robotics (eBooks published in the last three years)

In addition, SIT Library has subscription to over 20 Springer ejournals in the subject of health sciences, biotechnology and engineering.

See Subject Guide for details on accessing.
- OU Access: On campus and off campus accessible
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
USP-NF Online (USP Academic Connection)
The USP-NF is a combination of two compendia, the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) and the National Formulary (NF). This online reference resource contains standards for medicines, dosage forms, drug substances, excipients, biologics, compounded preparations, medical devices, dietary supplements, and other therapeutics.

Registration with SIT email is required for the first-time user of USP Academic Connection. Refer to this guide for the step-by-step instructions.
The complimentary institutional access is offered by USP.

See the help guide for detailed steps on performing a search.
Web of Science
Web of Science consists of Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index.

It is a curated collection of over 20,000 peer-reviewed, scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 science, social sciences, and humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings and Journal Citation Report are also accessible.

The followings are the Time Span for the collection:
• Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1985 - present)
• Emerging Sources Citation Index ( recent 5 years)
• Science Citation Index (1985 - present)
• Social Sciences Citation Index (1985 - present)
• Proceedings Citation Index (1990 - Present)
- OU Access: On campus and off campus accessible
- Alumni Access: Not accessible

On campus link
Wiley Online Library
Access to over 18,000 eBooks related to Business & Economics, Engineering, Food Science & Technology, Health Sciences, Information Technology, Medicine, Nursing, Social Sciences and Physical Sciences etc.

See Subject Guide for details on accessing.

It also provides access to over 50 subscribed journals in the subjects of finance & accounting, food technology and health sciences.
- OU Access: On campus and off campus accessible
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link

Industry and Market Research Reports

Business Source Complete
A business database that provides full-text articles for more than 2,200 journals. It also provides company profiles, industry reports, market research reports and SWOT analysis.It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, economics and more.
- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
EMIS (Emerging Markets Information Service)
A one-stop research platform providing company and industry information. It provides

- Country profiles
- Macroeconomic statistics
- Forecasts, and analysis
- Reports on financial markets, companies, and industries
- Exchange rates
- Analyst reports
- Business news for countries in Asia, Eastern Europe, Latin America, Middle East & Africa

1 concurrent user access. The system will automatically log out after 30 minutes of inactivity.
- OU Access: On campus and off campus accessible
- Alumni Access: Not accessible
Mintel
Access to Global New Products Database (GNPD) and Food & Drink via the Mintel platform.

- Food & Drink provides foresights into key trends, and expert insight into the products and positioning that drives purchasing decisions worldwide.

- GNPD provides new product innovation and trends, from ingredients to innovation, promotion to packaging. It covers food, drink, household, beauty & personal care, healthcare, and pet sectors.

Click here for a guide on creating a personal account with your SIT email.

Refer to this guide to get started and visit the Help Center for additional guidance and advice.
- OU Access: On campus and off campus accessible
- Alumni Access: Not accessible

On campus link
Passport
It provides business intelligence on industries, economies and consumers. The content includes millions of statistics and in-depth reports for more than 28 industries across 80 markets worldwide, covering industry trends, market size, market share, forecast etc. The subscribed coverage includes: World, Asia Pacific, Western Europe, North America, Australasia.
- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni Access: Not accessible

On campus link
Statista
This database provides access to 1.5 million world-wide statistics on 500 areas from 41 countries for a period of 5 years, including Agriculture, Chemical, Construction, Health, Telecommunication, Tourism& Hospitality, and many more areas. In addition to tables and charts, it also provides access to 2,500 dossiers and 40 industry reports.
- OU Access: On campus and off campus accessible
- Alumni Access: On campus and off campus accessible

On campus link