Subject Guides: Nursing: Yr 4 Tri 1

Textbooks by Year & Semester

Yr 3 Tri 1 Yr 3 Tri 2 Yr 3 Tri 3 Yr 4 Tri 1 Yr 4 Tri 2

NUR4001 Teaching, Learning and Assessing in Healthcare

Adult Education and Lifelong Learning by Peter Jarvis
ISBN: 9780415494816
Publication Date: 2010-03-12
E-book available for access
Developing Portfolios in Education by Ruth S. Johnson; J. (Joan) Sabrina Mims-Cox; Adelaide R. Doyle-Nichols
ISBN: 9781412972369
Publication Date: 2009-07-21
On order
Mentoring, Learning and Assessment in Clinical Practice by Ci Ci Stuart
ISBN: 9780702041952
Publication Date: 2013-06-20
E-book available for access
Mentoring and Supervision in Healthcare by Neil Gopee
Call Number: R834 Gop 2015
ISBN: 9781473902466
Publication Date: 2015-04-14
Print book available for access
Practice Teaching in Healthcare by Neil Gopee
ISBN: 9781848601352
Publication Date: 2010-03-03
E-book available for access
Quinn's Principles and Practice of Nurse Education by Suzanne Hughes; Francis Quinn
Call Number: RT71 Hug 2013
ISBN: 9781408074756
Print book available for access
Succeed in OSCE's and practical Exams by Liz Westcott; Clair Merriman
ISBN: 9780335237333
Publication Date: 2010-09-01
On order
Teaching in Nursing and Role of the Educator, Second Edition by Marilyn H. Oermann (Editor); Jennie C. De Gagne (Editor); Beth Cusatis Phillips (Editor)
ISBN: 9780826140135
Publication Date: 2018
E-Book available for access
Ways of Learning by Alan Pritchard
ISBN: 9781138207943
Publication Date: 2017-09-19
On order

Willis Commission on Nursing Education
The Willis Commission on Nursing Education has gathered evidence on the best methods of delivering pre-registration nursing education in the UK and how efficient the current education system is; in particular, looking at the balance between workplace and classroom learning.
Battersea Healthcare: GPN Resources
Useful Links > RCN Guidance for Mentors of Nursing and Midwifery Students (pdf)

Clinical Placements

Reflective Practice in Nursing by Chris Bulman (Editor); Sue Schutz (Editor)
Call Number: RT84.5 Ref 2013
ISBN: 9780470658109
Publication Date: 2013-04-01
Print book and E-book available for access
Beginning reflective practice by Melanie Jasper
Call Number: RT86.7 Jas 2013
ISBN: 9781408075265
Publication Date: 2013
Print book and E-book available for access
The Reflective Practitioner by Donald A. Schon
Call Number: HD8038.A1 Sch 1983
ISBN: 9781857423198
Publication Date: 1994
Print book and E-book available for access
A Beginner's Guide to Critical Thinking and Writing in Health and Social Care by Helen Aveyard; Pam Sharp; Mary Woolliams
ISBN: 9780335264346
Publication Date: 2011
E-book available for access
Write Yourself by Gillie Bolton; Penelope Shuttle (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781849051101
Publication Date: 2011-06-15
E-book available for access
International Textbook of Reflective Practice in Nursing by Dawn Freshwater; Beverley J. Taylor; Gwen Sherwood
Call Number: RT73 Int 2008
ISBN: 9781405160513
Publication Date: 2008-07-10
Print book available for access
Learning by doing: a guide to teaching and learning methods by Graham Gibbs; Claire Andrew
ISBN: 9781853380716
Publication Date: 1998
Freely available online
Professional Development, Reflection and Decision-Making in Nursing and Healthcare by Melanie Jasper; Gail Mooney; Megan Rosser
ISBN: 9780470658383
Publication Date: 2013-08-26
E-book available for access
Becoming a Reflective Practitioner by Christopher Johns (Editor)
ISBN: 9781119193920
Publication Date: 2017-06-26
On order
A Handbook of Reflective and Experiential Learning by Jennifer A. Moon
ISBN: 9780415335164
Publication Date: 2004-06-15
E-book available for access
Critical Reflection in Practice by Gary Rolfe; Melanie Jasper; Dawn Freshwater
Call Number: RT85 Rol 2011
ISBN: 9780230209060
Publication Date: 2010-11-03
Print book available for access

The practice of reflection
By Michael Eraut

NUR4002 Leadership and Change Management

Leadership in Health Care by Jill Barr; Lesley Dowding
ISBN: 9781526459404
Publication Date: 2019-04-16
On order
Leadership roles and management functions in nursing: theory and application by Bessie L Marquis; Carol J Huston
Call Number: RT89 Mar 2014
ISBN: 9781469855714
Publication Date: 2015
Print book available for access
Leadership and Management in Healthcare by Neil Gopee; Jo Galloway
ISBN: 9781473965027
Publication Date: 2017-05-05
On order
Initiating and Sustaining the Clinical Nurse Leader Role by James L. Harris; Linda A. Roussel; Tricia Thomas
ISBN: 9781284113662
Publication Date: 2016-12-27
E-book available for access
Decision-Making in Nursing by Sandra B. Lewenson; Marie Truglio-Londrigan
ISBN: 9781284026177
Publication Date: 2014-03-21
E-book available for access
Critical Thinking Tactics for Nurses by M. Gaie Rubenfeld; Barbara Scheffer
ISBN: 9781284041385
Publication Date: 2014-04-11
E-book available for access
Leading at the Edge by Dennis N. T. Perkins; Margaret P. Holtman (As told to); Paul R. Kessler; Catherine McCarthy (As told to); Jillian B. Murphy (As told to)
ISBN: 9780814431948
Publication Date: 2012-03-28
E-book available for access
ABC of Clinical Leadership by Tim Swanwick; Judy McKimm
ISBN: 9781119134312
Publication Date: 2017-03-20
E-book available for access
Delivering Quality Through Leadership: NHSScotland Leadership Development Strategy by Scotland. Scottish Government.; National Health Service in Scotland
ISBN: 9780755981267
Publication Date: 5 Jan 2010
Freely available online

NUR4801 Honours Thesis

Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care: a Practical Guide by Helen Aveyard
Call Number: RA440.87.G7 Ave 2014
ISBN: 9780335263073
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Print book available for access
Doing a Literature Review in Nursing, Health and Social Care by Michael Coughlan; Patricia Cronin
Call Number: RT81.5 Cou 2021
ISBN: 9781526497529
Publication Date: 2021-03-09
Print book available for access
How to do a systematic literature review in nursing: a step-by-step guide by Josette Bettany-Saltikov; Robert McSherry
Call Number: RT81.5 Bet 2016
ISBN: 9780335263806
Publication Date: 2016
Print book available for access
How to Write Your Nursing Dissertation by Alan Glasper (Editor); Colin Rees (Editor)
ISBN: 9781118410714
Publication Date: 2012-11-05
E-book available for access
How to Read a Paper by Trisha Greenhalgh
ISBN: 9781119484738
Publication Date: 2019-04-05
E-book available for access
Your Undergraduate Dissertation by Nicholas Walliman
Call Number: LB2369 Wal 2014
ISBN: 9781446253199
Publication Date: 2013-09-03
Print book available for access

National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)
The National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) in UK provides national guidance and advice to improve health and social care.
Ministry of Health (MOH)
This section contains information and statistics related to the state of health in Singapore, the operations of our hospitals, as well as the surveillance of infectious diseases in the country.
Public Health Scotland
Improving health Previously NHS Health Scotland.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Contains different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It consists of the following resources:
• Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
• Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
• Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCA)

NEW! PICO search

You are encouraged to access this resource without connecting VPN as PDF files are not downloadable with VPN.
- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
Joanna Briggs Institute Evidence-Based Practice Database This link opens in a new window
This database allows you to search simultaneously, a wide range of summarized and appraised evidence, to inform your practice. It covers global, current & relevant evidence in health subjects & specialties. A unique suite of information helping healthcare professionals integrate evidence into practice.
- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link