Subject Guides: Nursing: Yr 4 Tri 2

Textbooks by Year & Semester

Yr 3 Tri 1 Yr 3 Tri 2 Yr 3 Tri 3 Yr 4 Tri 1 Yr 4 Tri 2

NUR4005 Development in Nursing Practice

Applying the Roper-Logan-Tierney Model in Practice by Karen Holland (Editor); Jane Jenkins (Editor)
ISBN: 9780702046582
Publication Date: 2019-05-15
E-book available for access
Communities of practice: learning, meaning, and identity by Etienne Wenger; John Seely Brown (Contribution by); Christian Heath (Contribution by); Roy Pea (Contribution by)
Call Number: HD58.82 Wen 1998
ISBN: 9780521663632
Publication Date: 1999-09-28
Print book available for access
Containing Anxiety in Institutions by Isabel Menzies Lyth
Call Number: RA965.3 Lyt 1988
ISBN: 9781853430015
Publication Date: 1992-01-19
Print book available for access
Current Issues in Nursing by Perle Slavik Cowen; Sue Moorhead
ISBN: 9780323065719
Publication Date: 2010-02-08
Print book and E-book available for access
From novice to expert: excellence and power in clinical nursing practice by Patricia Benner
Call Number: RT82 Ben 2001
ISBN: 9780130325228
Publication Date: 2000-10-10
Print book available for access
International Handbook of Research in Professional and Practice-Based Learning by Stephen Billett (Editor); Christian Harteis (Editor); Hans Gruber (Editor)
ISBN: 9789401789011
Publication Date: 2014-08-01
E-book available for access
Kelly's Dimensions of Professional Nursing by Lucille A. Joel
ISBN: 9780071740999
Publication Date: 2011-04-14
Print book available for access
Notes on Nursing by Florence Nightingale
ISBN: 9781975110253
Publication Date: 1860
Freely available online
Nursing theory: utilization & application by Martha Raile Alligood
ISBN: 9780323091893
Publication Date: 2013-08-13
E-book available for access
Professional nursing: concepts & challenges by Beth Black
Call Number: RT82 Bla 2020
ISBN: 9780323551137
Publication Date: 2019-09-04
Print book available for access
Professional nursing practice : concepts and perspectives by Kathy Blais; Janice Hayes
ISBN: 9780133801316
Publication Date: 2015-06-03
E-book available for access
The Question of Competence by Brian D. Hodges (Editor); Lorelei Lingard (Editor); M. Brownell Anderson (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9780801450495
Publication Date: 2012-10-11
E-book available for access
The Roper-Logan-Tierney Model of Nursing by Nancy Roper; Winifred W. Logan; Alison J. Tierney; Ann Marriner Tomey (Foreword by)
Call Number: RT84.5 Rop 2003
ISBN: 9780443063732
Publication Date: 2000-10-05
Print book available for access
The Theory of Power and Organization (RLE: Organizations) by Stewart Clegg
ISBN: 9780415822503
Publication Date: 2013-03-21
E-book available for access

NUR 4006 Health Systems - Global Perspectives

Communicable Disease Control and Health Protection Handbook by Jeremy Hawker; Norman Begg; Obaghe Edeghere; Karl Ekdahl; Ralf Reintjes; Jim E. van Steenbergen
ISBN: 9781119328049
Publication Date: 2019-02-04
E-book available for access
Comparative Health Policy by Robert H. Blank; Viola Burau
Call Number: RA394 Bla 2014
ISBN: 9781137023568
Publication Date: 2013-10-09
Print book and E-book available for access
Global Health by Michael H. Merson; Robert E. Black; Anne J. Mills
ISBN: 9781284122626
Publication Date: 2018-09-14
On order
Global Health 101 by Richard Skolnik
Call Number: RA441 Sko 2016
ISBN: 9781284050547
Publication Date: 2015-08-21
Print book available for access
Singapore's health care system : what 50 years have achieved by Chien Earn Lee; K. Satku
Call Number: RA395.S59 Sin 2016
ISBN: 9789814696043
Publication Date: 2015-10-01
Print book and E-book available for access
Understanding Global Health by Melanie A. Fisher; William H. Markle; Ray A. Smego
ISBN: 9780071791007
Publication Date: 2013-11-05
On order
Understanding Health Policy: a Clinical Approach by Kevin Grumbach; Thomas S. Bodenheimer
Call Number: RA395.A3 Bod 2016
ISBN: 9781259584756
Publication Date: 2016-02-29
Print book and E-book available for access
The World Health Report 2000 by World Health Organization Staff
ISBN: 9789241561983
Publication Date: 2000-06-01
Freely available online
The World Health Report 2010 by World Health Organization
ISBN: 9789241564021
Publication Date: 2011-02-10
Freely available online

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
As the nation's health protection agency, CDC saves lives and protects people from health, safety, and security threats.
Genetics Research - Human genetics
Global Health Education Consortium (GHEC)
GHEC works to facilitate global health education in four areas – curriculum and training materials development, clinical training, career development, and education policy.
Global Network of People living with HIV (GNP+)
GNP+ is the global network for and by people living with HIV.
International Diabetes Federation (IDF)
The global advocate for people with diabetes. The mission of IDF is to promote diabetes care, prevention and a cure worldwide.
Malaria Foundation International (MFI)
MRI's mission is to facilitate the development and implementation of solutions to the health, economic and social problems caused by Malaria.
Stop TB Partnership
The Stop TB Partnership is leading the way to a world without tuberculosis (TB), a disease that is curable but still kills three people every minute.
Union for International Cancer Control (UICC)
UICC unites and supports the cancer community to reduce the global cancer burden, to promote greater equity, and to ensure that cancer control continues to be a priority in the world health and development agenda.
United Nations (UN)
World Bank
The World Bank Group is a unique global partnership fighting poverty worldwide through sustainable solutions.
World Economic Forum
The Forum engages the foremost political, business, cultural and other leaders of society to shape global, regional and industry agendas.
World Health Organization (WHO)

NUR4007 Palliative and End-of-Life Care

Oxford Textbook of Palliative Nursing by Betty Rolling Ferrell (Editor); Judith A. Paice (Editor)
ISBN: 9780190862374
Publication Date: 2019-03-15

Palliative Nursing Competency Framework
A guide from the Ministry of Health, Singapore, to clarify the roles, responsibilities, and essential competencies for nurses in palliative care settings.

NUR4802 Honours Thesis

Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care: a Practical Guide by Helen Aveyard
Call Number: RA440.87.G7 Ave 2014
ISBN: 9780335263073
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Print book available for access
Doing a Literature Review in Nursing, Health and Social Care by Michael Coughlan; Patricia Cronin
Call Number: RT81.5 Cou 2021
ISBN: 9781526497529
Publication Date: 2021-03-09
Print book available for access
How to do a systematic literature review in nursing: a step-by-step guide by Josette Bettany-Saltikov; Robert McSherry
Call Number: RT81.5 Bet 2016
ISBN: 9780335263806
Publication Date: 2016
Print book available for access
How to Read a Paper by Trisha Greenhalgh
ISBN: 9781119484738
Publication Date: 2019-04-05
E-book available for access
How to Write Your Nursing Dissertation by Alan Glasper (Editor); Colin Rees (Editor)
ISBN: 9781118410714
Publication Date: 2012-11-05
E-book available for access
Your Undergraduate Dissertation by Nicholas Walliman
Call Number: LB2369 Wal 2014
ISBN: 9781446253199
Publication Date: 2013-09-03
Print book available for access

Ministry of Health (MOH)
This section contains information and statistics related to the state of health in Singapore, the operations of our hospitals, as well as the surveillance of infectious diseases in the country.
National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)
The National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) in UK provides national guidance and advice to improve health and social care.
Public Health Scotland
Improving health Previously NHS Health Scotland.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Contains different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It consists of the following resources:
• Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
• Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
• Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCA)

NEW! PICO search

You are encouraged to access this resource without connecting VPN as PDF files are not downloadable with VPN.
- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
Joanna Briggs Institute Evidence-Based Practice Database This link opens in a new window
This database allows you to search simultaneously, a wide range of summarized and appraised evidence, to inform your practice. It covers global, current & relevant evidence in health subjects & specialties. A unique suite of information helping healthcare professionals integrate evidence into practice.
- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link