Subject Guides: Nursing: Databases

Below is a selected list of library databases.

This list is not exhaustive; click here to access other databases.

Databases

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL stands for Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. This database provides full text for more than 1,400 journals and indexing for over 3,000 journals.
See EBSCO Connect for how to search using CINAHL Subject Headings.
- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Contains different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It consists of the following resources:
• Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
• Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
• Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCA)

You are encouraged to access this resource without connecting VPN as PDF files are not downloadable with VPN.
- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
JAMA Network This link opens in a new window
The following journals are the new additions to the JAMA collection, published by American Medical Association.

1. JAMA, JAMA Pediatrics and JAMA Internal Medicine (1998 – Present)

2. JAMA Backfiles Collection (Vol.1 – 1997)
-- Archives of Neurology & Psychiatry
-- JAMA
-- JAMA Dermatology
-- JAMA Internal Medicine
-- JAMA Neurology
-- JAMA Ophthalmology
-- JAMA Otolaryngology–Head & Neck Surgery
-- JAMA Pediatrics
-- JAMA Psychiatry
-- JAMA Surgery
- OU Access: On campus and off campus accessible
- Alumni access from library PCs
Joanna Briggs Institute Evidence-Based Practice Database This link opens in a new window
This database allows you to search simultaneously, a wide range of summarized and appraised evidence, to inform your practice. It covers global, current & relevant evidence in health subjects & specialties. A unique suite of information helping healthcare professionals integrate evidence into practice.
- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
Ovid Journals This link opens in a new window
Access to over 10 subscribed health science journals published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.

1 concurrent user access
- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
A full-text database produced by the American Psychological Association (APA). It provides access to over 196,000 full-text articles in psychology, behavioral sciences and related disciplines. The journal coverage dates back more than a century and most journal issues from Volume 1, Issue 1.
- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
PubMed This link opens in a new window
A free resource developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information. It provides online access to over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE (also searchable via OneSearch), life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the allied health, physical therapy, health education chemical sciences, bioengineering etc.
See PubMed Subject Guide and PubMed Online Training for search tips.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
It provides access to more than 1,000 peer-reviewed journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine. Online access goes back to 1999, where available.
- OU Access: On campus and off campus accessible
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
It provides online access to more than 2000 ejournals and 1000 ebooks.
Subject collections include Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Computer Science, Engineering, Finance, Food Technology, Health Sciences, Hospitality Management etc.

Access coverage of Freedom Collection: 1995 - Present
Access coverage of the following ejournal collections: Vol 1 - present
- Business, Management and Accounting Collection
- Chemical Engineering collection
- Agricultural and Biological Sciences, including Supplement 1

See Subject Guide for details on accessing to ScienceDirect eBooks.
- OU Access: On campus accessible
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
Taylor & Francis Journals Online This link opens in a new window
It provides access to more than 1,000 online journals across the collections below:
• Allied & Public Health
• Business Management & Economics
• Engineering, Computing & Technology
• Medicine & Dentistry
• Sport, Leisure & Tourism
- OU Access: On campus and off campus accessible
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
VitalSource This link opens in a new window
Access to nearly 140 eTextbooks covering a wide range of subjects published by Pearson, Wiley, Cengage, McGraw Hill, Lippincott Williams & Wilkins and Cambridge University Press.
If you are new to VItalSource, you will need to create a Vitalsource account in order to access and download the ebooks.

See Subject Guide for details on accessing.
- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link

Nursing

Databases

Joanna Briggs Institute