Subject Guides: Occupational Therapy: Databases

Below is a selected list of library databases.

This list is not exhaustive; click here to access other databases.

Databases

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL stands for Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. This database provides full text for more than 1,400 journals and indexing for over 3,000 journals.
See EBSCO Connect for how to search using CINAHL Subject Headings.
- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Contains different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It consists of the following resources:
• Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
• Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
• Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCA)

You are encouraged to access this resource without connecting VPN as PDF files are not downloadable with VPN.
- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
F.A. Davis PT Collection This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive online PT resource that covers the spectrum of physical therapy. It consists of over 30 books, 400 videos and 10 cases on physical examination, evaluation, intervention, and rehabilitation.
- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
JAMA Network This link opens in a new window
The following journals are the new additions to the JAMA collection, published by American Medical Association.

1. JAMA, JAMA Pediatrics and JAMA Internal Medicine (1998 – Present)

2. JAMA Backfiles Collection (Vol.1 – 1997)
-- Archives of Neurology & Psychiatry
-- JAMA
-- JAMA Dermatology
-- JAMA Internal Medicine
-- JAMA Neurology
-- JAMA Ophthalmology
-- JAMA Otolaryngology–Head & Neck Surgery
-- JAMA Pediatrics
-- JAMA Psychiatry
-- JAMA Surgery
- OU Access: On campus and off campus accessible
- Alumni access from library PCs
Joanna Briggs Institute Evidence-Based Practice Database This link opens in a new window
This database allows you to search simultaneously, a wide range of summarized and appraised evidence, to inform your practice. It covers global, current & relevant evidence in health subjects & specialties. A unique suite of information helping healthcare professionals integrate evidence into practice.
- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link

OTseeker
A database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions.

Ovid Journals This link opens in a new window
Access to over 10 subscribed health science journals published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.

1 concurrent user access
- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link

PEDro (Physiotherapy Evidence Database)
PEDro is a free database of over 35,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. These quality ratings are used to quickly guide users to trials that are more likely to be valid and to contain sufficient information to guide clinical practice.

PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
A full-text database produced by the American Psychological Association (APA). It provides access to over 196,000 full-text articles in psychology, behavioral sciences and related disciplines. The journal coverage dates back more than a century and most journal issues from Volume 1, Issue 1.
- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
PubMed This link opens in a new window
A free resource developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information. It provides online access to over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE (also searchable via OneSearch), life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the allied health, physical therapy, health education chemical sciences, bioengineering etc.
See PubMed Subject Guide and PubMed Online Training for search tips.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
It provides access to more than 1,000 peer-reviewed journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine. Online access goes back to 1999, where available.
- OU Access: On campus and off campus accessible
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
It provides online access to more than 2000 ejournals and 1000 ebooks.
Subject collections include Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Computer Science, Engineering, Finance, Food Technology, Health Sciences, Hospitality Management etc.

Access coverage of Freedom Collection: 1995 - Present
Access coverage of the following ejournal collections: Vol 1 - present
- Business, Management and Accounting Collection
- Chemical Engineering collection
- Agricultural and Biological Sciences, including Supplement 1

See Subject Guide for details on accessing to ScienceDirect eBooks.
- OU Access: On campus accessible
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
Taylor & Francis Journals Online This link opens in a new window
It provides access to more than 1,000 online journals across the collections below:
• Allied & Public Health
• Business Management & Economics
• Engineering, Computing & Technology
• Medicine & Dentistry
• Sport, Leisure & Tourism
- OU Access: On campus and off campus accessible
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link

Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
It provides online access to approximately 300 procured ebooks relating to Hospitality Business, Tourism, Accounting, Higher Education and Pedagogy.

See Subject Guide for details on accessing.
- OU Access: On campus and off campus accessible
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
VitalSource This link opens in a new window
Access to nearly 140 eTextbooks covering a wide range of subjects published by Pearson, Wiley, Cengage, McGraw Hill, Lippincott Williams & Wilkins and Cambridge University Press.
If you are new to VItalSource, you will need to create a Vitalsource account in order to access and download the ebooks.

See Subject Guide for details on accessing.
- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Access to over 18,000 eBooks related to Business & Economics, Engineering, Food Science & Technology, Health Sciences, Information Technology, Medicine, Nursing, Social Sciences and Physical Sciences etc.

See Subject Guide for details on accessing.

It also provides access to over 50 subscribed journals in the subjects of finance & accounting, food technology and health sciences.
- OU Access: On campus and off campus accessible
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link

Alexander Street Videos This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 30 streaming videos covering the subject of nursing, occupational therapy, physical therapy and medical imaging.
- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
Films On Demand This link opens in a new window
It provides academic videos in the subject areas of allied health, career management, education, engineering, hospitality & tourism, languages, sociology, sciences, technology and more.
- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
ICE Video Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 200 videos clips of patient assessment case studies for the physical and occupational therapy. In addition, 3 videos on StrokeHelp are also available for access.

Interim access: First-time users click "Create Account" on the homepage and register using your SIT email address.
- OU Access: On campus and off campus accessible
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
This database contains more than 300 three-dimensional videos of real human anatomic specimens in their natural colors. Coverage includes upper extremity, lower extremity, trunk, head & neck, and internal organs. This resource also offers self-assessment/Q&A and PDF transcripts.
- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
e-Anatomy: radiologic anatomy atlas of the human body This link opens in a new window
This is an interactive atlas of human anatomy. It consists of 18,000+ diagrams, CT, MRI, Radiographs, images etc. The content is organized by modules, each module presents medical imaging examinations (e.g. CT scans and MRI) with annotated anatomical structures and diagrams.

- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link

News

Financial Times Online (FT.com) This link opens in a new window
The Financial Times is one of the leading international business dailies. It provides in depth coverage of statistical issues and original data analysis, with a special emphasis on business and economic news.

A one-time registration and creation of password is required for first time sign-in to the SIT subscription, but no longer required after the account has been set up. For subsequent access, just click the above FT.com link and sign in with SIT credential.

The content is also accessible via mobile apps. The step-by-step guide is available here.

NOTE: For research or teaching purposes only. For dissemination or reproduction rights, see FT's Help Centre on Copyright Policy.
- OU Access: On campus and off campus accessible
- Alumni Access: Not accessible
Business Times Online This link opens in a new window
Access business & financial news including analysis and opinion on business stories etc at your fingertips. E-paper edition of the newspaper is also available for reading. Please access this resource with Chrome browser.

4 concurrent users. Click CONTINUE if you see the message "Your account is used on too many devices" prompted.
- OU Access: On campus and off campus accessible
- Alumni Access: Not accessible
Straits Times Online This link opens in a new window
Access Singapore news and international news at your fingertips. E-paper edition of the newspaper is also available for reading. Please access this resource with Chrome browser.

6 concurrent users. Click CONTINUE if you see the message "Your account is used on too many devices" prompted.
- OU Access: On campus and off campus accessible
- Alumni Access: Not accessible

Access ST ePaper