The Complete Book of Grant Writing by
Learn how to write grants that win funding fast! The Complete Book of Grant Writing is the ultimate grant book that shows you how to write a grant proposal if you're seeking funding through government grants, foundation grants, and specialty grants. Grant proposal writing is an intricate process where any bits of misinformation or formatting errors can mean the difference between securing funding or not. Professional grant writer Nancy Burke Smith and philanthropy consultant and grant maker E. Gabriel Works unveil the secrets behind how to find and successfully apply for grants. Topics include- The Five Core Components of every grant, including the statement of need, the evaluation plan, and budgets What makes a grant compelling to funders? What to do when you are funded-and actions you can take if you are denied funding How to become a professional grant writer The grant writing timetable, from responding to requests for proposals to receiving funding Grant writing in different fields of nonprofit practice, including educational, governmental, environmental, and faith-based organizations Packed with 20 samples to show you exactly how to get started, including full grant proposals, letters of inquiry, support letters, concept papers, and more!
Grant Writing for Dummies by
Write award-winning grant proposals that build organizational capacity! For nonprofit and for-profit firms alike, grants can be a singular generator of growth and impact. But many leaders are intimidated and confused by the sometimes-complex grant application process. The truth, however, is that anyone can learn to write and send a powerful grant letter with the right help. In Grant Writing For Dummies, Dr. Beverly Browning draws on over four decades of experience writing grant applications and training grant writers to deliver a comprehensive and easy-to-follow roadmap to drafting and submitting grant applications that get funded. You'll learn to craft the strongest application possible, find the best sources of funding from online databases, and present a realistic project budget plan. You'll also find: Example types of funding requests that demonstrate how to apply the concepts discussed in the book New and updated material walking you through the entire grant-writing process, from beginning to end Writing techniques that capture the imaginations of grant reviewers who decide which applicants walk away empty-handed and which ones receive cash Whether you're looking to fund your nonprofit, grow your business, or develop your research venture, you'll find the guidance you need in Grant Writing For Dummies.
Grant Writing Handbook for Nurses and Health Professionals by
This accessible, hands-on text, for new grant writers and seasoned health researchers, educators, and clinicians alike, illuminates the process of writing a persuasive request for funding from start to finish. Packed with practical tips for dealing with common pitfalls besieging grant seekers, the text progresses step by step from establishing the need for the grant through disseminating grant findings. This third edition is distinguished by key information about newer grant mechanisms and a fresh focus for foundation and corporate grants. It also includes updates on electronic submissions and web resources. Useful supporting features include examples and underlying principles for each guideline, examples of grants and specific elements that lend themselves to the development of PowerPoint slides for traditional or online classroom use, real-life examples from actual grant applications, and links to online resources to support searches for grant funders and websites supporting grant applications. Armed with savvy tips and advice from the authors--an experienced grant writer, grant reviewer, and grant consultant--readers will be able to write a persuasive grant with ease. NEW TO THE THIRD EDITION: Top-notch grant writing guidance for all health professionals Information about newer grant mechanisms emphasizing community-based and patient-centered outcomes research grants Foundation and corporate grants focusing on population health, personalized health, and interprofessional team grants that include community collaborations and corporate partnerships Important information on the Patient-Centered Research Institute Guidance on how to involve stakeholders and communities in study design and implementation Updates on electronic submissions and web resources New coauthor who is a successful PCORI awardee Instructor's PowerPoint slides KEY FEATURES: Describes the process of writing a persuasive request for funding from start to finish Delivers practical tips from experienced authors for dealing with common pitfalls and difficulties Includes examples and underlying principles for each guideline Provides real-life examples from actual grant applications Helps readers to apply principles for selling and justifying the grant to their own proposals
Grant Writing with AI for Dummies by
Supercharge your next grant proposal with the power of AI A stand-out grant proposals can be the difference between your organization thriving, surviving, or folding. So don't miss the opportunity presented by artificial intelligence (AI) to take your grant proposals to the next level! In Grant Writing with AI For Dummies, business writer extraordinaire Sheryl Lindsell-Roberts delivers an exciting new guide to supercharging your next grant proposal with AI. She's helped countless organizations win millions of dollars in funding. In the book: Boost your chances of being selected for funding. Craft inspiring stories that tug at reviewer's heartstrings and wallets. Learn to write spot-on executive summaries. Crack the keyword code so electronic scanners notice you. Find loads of examples of actual AI output in addition to AI websites. With AI as your virtual assistant, you have a secret weapon to take your grant proposals to the next level. Grab a copy of Grant Writing with AI For Dummies today and see the difference a dash of AI can make!
Perfect Phrases for Writing Grant Proposals by
The Right Phrase for Every Situation...Every Time These days, it's not enough to work for a good cause or worthy organization. If you want to receive funding from a corporation, community, foundation, or government institution, it all comes down to one thing: your proposal. With hundreds of ready-to-use "Perfect Phrases," you'll quickly know the right words to use for the three major sections of every successful grant proposal: How to introduce yourself, your program, and your achievements How to describe your goals-and what funding will accomplish What you should include as your supporting documents With this comprehensive, user-friendly approach to grant writing, you'll be able to tackle the various proposal formats, create a professional purpose statement, and back up your plan with solid data. Plus, you'll discover some insider secrets that will really get the attention you want-and the funding you need.
Storytelling for Grantseekers by
Grantwriters often have little or no training in the practical task of grantseeking. Many feel intimidated by the act of writing, and some don't enjoy writing. In Storytelling for Grantseekers, Second Edition, Cheryl Clarke presents an organic approach to grantseeking, one that views the process through the lens of the pleasures and rewards of crafting a good story. Grantseekers who approach the process as one in which they are connecting with an audience (grantmakers) and writing a narrative (complete with settings, characters, antagonists and resolutions) find greater success with funders. The writing process becomes a rewarding way to tell the organization's tale, rather than a chore, and their passion and creativity lead to winning proposals. This book walks readers through all the main phases of the proposal, highlighting the creative elements that link components to each other and unify the entire proposal. The book contains resources on crafting an effective synopsis, overcoming grantwriter's block, packaging the story, and the best ways to approach the "short stories" (inquiry and cover letters) that support the larger proposal. Clarke also stresses the need to see proposal-writing as part of a larger grantseeking effort, one that emphasizes preparation, working with the entire development staff, and maintaining good relations with funders. In Storytelling for Grantseekers, new and experienced grantseekers alike will discover how to write and support successful proposals with humor and passion. New edition features: Overall updates as well as both refreshed and new examples Workshop exercises for using the storytelling approach New chapters on the application of the storytelling method to other fundraising communications like appeal letters and case statements, as well as the importance of site visits Example of a full narrative proposal
Successful Grant Proposals in Science, Technology, and Medicine by
There are many resources on grant writing in science, technology and medicine, but most do not provide the practical advice needed to write the narratives of grant proposals. Designed to help novice and experienced investigators write compelling narratives and acquire research funding, this is a detailed guide to the content, organisation, layout, phrasing, and scientific argumentation of narratives. The authors draw on more than twenty years of research and analysis of grant proposals, having worked extensively with investigators at different levels, from pre-doctoral students to senior scientists. They have used this experience to design a framework for scientific writing that you can apply directly to narratives. The guidelines and advice offered are applicable across many funding agencies, including the NIH and NSF. Featuring many real-life examples, the book covers a range of topics, from organisational alternatives to best practices in grammar and editing, overview visuals, and working with contributors.
Successful Grant Writing for Health and Human Service Professionals, Fifth Edition by
Note to Readers: Publisher does not guarantee quality or access to any included digital components if book is purchased through a third-party seller. Following in the tradition of its previous editions, the updated and fully revised fifth edition of this classic guide to grant writing is especially written for health and human service professionals. It provides a comprehensive, systematic, and easy-to-follow stepwise guide to writing competitive grant proposals for research, education, innovative practices, and demonstration projects. Never has the need to advance evidence to improve the health of the public been greater. Generating evidence requires funding, and grant writing has become an essential activity for every health and human service professional who must seek funds to advance innovative research, education, and practice initiatives. Uniquely focused on developing grant-writing skills as part of a professional's career, this one-of-a-kind guide addresses the full range of essential competencies needed to ensure success. The new edition expands coverage on how to compose an effective aims page, explains how to write a compelling literature review to support significance of a proposal, and describes considerations for specific types of study designs. Additionally, the guide provides a more extensive discussion of mentorship, plus tips for predoctoral students and postdoctoral fellows.NEW TO THE FIFTH EDITION: Spotlights important new trends that can make or break grant successFeatures Professional Spotlights reflecting the experiences and advice from successful grant writers - from novice to expertHighlights special considerations for predoctoral students and postdoctoral fellowsExamines how to write effective grant applications for specific types of study designsExplains how to craft compelling statements about significance and innovationProvides guidelines on mentorshipCovers ways to manage postaward activities and offers strategies and templates for documenting grant progressKEY FEATURES: Key summary points in every chapterCase examples throughoutStrategies for managing a grant-writing team and postaward activitiesConsiderations in building a grant-writing career and matching your level of experience to funding mechanismsTestimonies from novices and experts describing their unique grant-writing experiences
Winning Grants Step by Step by
Strong grant proposal writing made easy From small startups to established national organizations, nonprofits large and small depend on grant funding to survive and thrive. Winning Grants Step by Step: The Complete Workbook for Planning, Developing, and Writing Successful Proposals has long been the go-to resource for individuals and organizations looking for a clear, easy-to-follow approach to tackling the grant-writing process and winning funds. Now, in this revised Fifth Edition, changes and developments in the not-for-profit sector are integrated into the time-tested grant-writing formula that has proven effective time and again. New to this edition, you'll find an expanded discussion of the importance of relationship building, social media, and online resources to successful nonprofit funding. The text has also been revised to include guidance for nonprofit program budgets for both foundation and public funding grants. Never before has Winning Grants Step by Step been so easy to comprehend. Updated worksheets and forms will improve your comprehension and make your grant proposals stronger and more successful than ever. Learn the proven step-by-step approach to writing strong grant proposals for foundation grants and public funds Complete worksheets and activities to practice your grant-writing skills and break the process down into easy pieces Understand how to integrate your ideas and insights with research and facts to demonstrate your organization's potential Learn the best approaches to building relationships and networking both in-person and online to push strong grant proposals into the winner's circle This guide is perfect as an introduction for the novice grantseeker or a refresher for the more experienced. Whether your organization needs only a thousand dollars or several million, following this step-by-step process will improve your ability to transform an idea that needs financial support into a proposal that deserves to be funded.
Writing Successful Grant Proposals by
The Teaching Writing series publishes user-friendly writing guides penned by authors with publishing records in their subject matter. Most grants books--often hundreds of pages long--make grant writing seem too intimidating, but Gorsevski gets to the heart of the process. In simple steps, Writing Successful Grant Proposals highlights key things savvy proposal writers do to attract and secure prospective funders. With clear, concise instructions, this book demystifies grant proposal writing, from the initial development phase, to the writing and submissions phase, to the grant award phase, to the final delivery of project results phase. This small but mighty guide shares with readers effective strategies for adapting proposals to meet diversity, digital, and other evolving 21st Century constraints of grant review, offering pointers for staying on-task, getting the proposed project done on time and under budget, plus many other insider tips for smoothly navigating through the grants process. This handy guidebook is designed to help academics, non-profits, 'creatives,' and entrepreneurs to write successful grant proposals. "This little book gets quickly to the important points. Even better, Dr. Gorsevski has been around the grant-writing block a few times herself. She's giving honest answers and pragmatic advice. This is all the stuff you really need to know!" - Dale Cyphert, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Management, College of Business Administration, University of Northern Iowa "Finally! A savvy book on grants that speaks to large social concerns of peace, environment, justice and multiple audiences. Gorsevski's book is a much needed resource for agency, academic and volunteer leaders alike regarding the do's and don'ts of dealing with diverse donors and RFPs." - George A. Lopez, Hesburgh Professor of Peace Studies Emeritus, University of Notre Dame, and former Vice-President of the US Institute of Peace Ellen W. Gorsevski, Ph.D., shares her experience in writing successful grant proposals in private sector think tanks and contracting firms and in public sector teaching and research. She is author of books on persuasive communication, including Peaceful Persuasion: The Geopolitics of Nonviolent Rhetoric (SUNY Press, 2004) and Dangerous Women: The Rhetoric of the Women Nobel Peace Laureates (Troubador Publishing, Ltd, 2014).
Developing Effective Research Proposals by
A well-constructed research plan is vital to the successful execution of any research project. This book shows how to design and prepare a research proposal and present it effectively to a university review committee, funding body, or commercial client. The book is organized around three central themes: What are research proposals; who reads them and why?; what general guidelines and strategies can help students develop a proposal; and what might a finished proposal look like? The book will be invaluable across all areas of social science, both basic and applied, and for students undertaking quantitative, qualitative and mixed-method studies. Developing Effective Research Proposals can be used as a workbook to Keith Punch′s bestselling text An Introduction to Social Research (Sage, 1998) or as an independent guide.
Handbook for Writing Proposals by
Proven techniques and invaluable advice for writing winning business proposals--revised and updated What makes a winning business proposal? It highlights your skills and services, meets your client's needs, and clearly sets you apart from the competition. Since 1995, "Handbook for Writing Proposals" has helped thousands of professionals develop winning proposals. This exceptional handbook guides you through the unique nine-step proposal-writing process from the initial RFP to the client presentation. In this revised and updated version, the authors show you how to: Choose the RFPs that give you the best chance of successShowcase your company's skills and servicesSet realistic time/cost schedules and budgetsAvoid the mistakes that sink most proposalsBuild client relationships that bring you repeat businessTailor your writing for an international business audience The second edition also offers you a wealth of downloadable forms and checklists that you can adapt for your own proposal-writing process. Whether you own your own business, need to train your corporate staff, or simply want to improve your skills, "Handbook for Writing Proposals," second edition will show you how to profit from every proposal you write.
Writing Research Proposals in the Health Sciences by
This is your step-by-step guide on how to write successful research proposals in the health sciences, whether it is for a thesis or dissertation review committee, an ethical review committee or a grant funding committee. Using quantitative, qualitative, and mixed research approaches, follow the journey of Liang and Natasha, two fictional researchers who will help you complete your proposal alongside reading the chapters. This practical guide includes top tips from the authors, read-reflect-respond activities and examples of project plans to equip you with all the tools you need to succeed with your research proposal.
Research and Technical Writing for Science and Engineering by
Engineering and science research can be difficult for beginners because scientific research is fraught with constraints and disciplines. Research and Technical Writing for Science and Engineering breakdowns the entire process of conducting engineering and scientific research. This book covers those fascinating guidelines and topics on conducting research, as well as how to better interact with your advisor. Key Features: advice on conducting a literature review, conducting experiments, and writing a good paper summarizing your findings. provides a tutorial on how to increase the impact of research and how to manage research resources. By reflecting on the cases discussed in this book, readers will be able to identify specific situations or dilemmas in their own lives, as the authors provide comprehensive suggestions based on their own experiences.
Writing for Science and Engineering by
Learning how to write clearly and concisely is an integral part of furthering your research career; however, doing so is not always easy. In this second edition, fully updated and revised, Dr. Silyn-Roberts explains in plain English the steps to writing abstracts, theses, journal papers, funding bids, literature reviews, and more. The book also examines preparing seminar and conference presentations. Written in a practical and easy to follow style specifically for postgraduate students in Engineering and Sciences, this book is essential in learning how to create powerful documents.Writing for Science and Engineering will prove invaluable in all areas of research and writing due its clear, concise style. The practical advice contained within the pages alongside numerous examples to aid learning will make the preparation of documentation much easier for all students.- Written in modular format, so you only need to access the relevant chapter- Covers a wide range of document and presentation types- Includes easy-to-understand rules to improve writing
How to Prepare Defense-Related Scientific and Technical Reports by
This book provides thorough and specific guidance on how to prepare defense-related scientific and technical reports, including classified scientific and technical reports. It includes an appendix describing the workings of the Defense Technical Information Center, the central repository for defense-related scientific and technical reports, and an appendix addressing tone and style, including pertinent information from the United States Government Printing Office Style Manual 2000, the official style guide of the U.S. Government and, therefore, the Department of Defense. Every facet of preparing defense-related scientific and technical reports is addressed, thereby making it unnecessary for the user to have to refer to the standards and numerous regulations pertaining to this subject. In effect, the book provides "one-stop shopping" for the user. Also, some of the official guidance on preparing defense-related scientific and technical reports requires interpretation, and in those cases the book provides a prudent analysis of that information and prescribes a "best practices" course for the user.
How to Write Technical Reports by
The 2nd edition was fundamentally changed and adopted to be displayed not only in book form, but also on all kinds of electronic devices. The following sections have been reduced or skipped: Tables, Scheme and diagram, Perspective drawing, Technical drawing and bill of materials, Pictorial re-arrangement of text, Copyright and copyright laws, Details about text accentuation, Automatic creation of indexes, tables, lists, labels and cross-references, Creating slides with presentation graphics programs.
User Guides, Manuals, and Technical Writing by
This book is intended for anyone whose job involves writing formal documentation. It is aimed at non-native speakers of English, but should also be of use for native speakers who have no training in technical writing. Technical writing is a skill that you can learn and this book outlines some simple ideas for writing clear documentation that will reflect well on your company, its image and its brand. The book has four parts: Structure and Content: Through examples, you will learn best practices in writing the various sections of a manual and what content to include. Clear Unambiguous English: You will learn how to write short clear sentences and paragraphs whose meaning will be immediately clear to the reader. Layout and Order Information: Here you will find guidelines on style issues, e.g., headings, bullets, punctuation and capitalization. Typical Grammar and Vocabulary Mistakes: This section is divided alphabetically and covers grammatical and vocabulary issues that are typical of user manuals.
The Essential Guide to Doing Your Research Project by
The ultimate companion to successfully completing your research project, the author guides you through a step-by-step approach to research and provides all of the skills and momentum you need to excel. Each stage of a project is clearly set out with best practice highlighted alongside pragmatic advice for tackling research in the real world. The Third Edition uses multidisciplinary case studies, and examples from the author's own experience, to answer your questions and support your progress as you move smoothly through each stage. With a new chapter on mixed methods approaches, more on disseminating research, more on the practical and legal implications of ethics and more international examples, the book is packed full of learning features and tools to support your journey, including: A fully-developed website with podcasts, videos, journal articles and examples of real projects Activities and worksheets to help you organize your time Learning objectives to sustain your momentum Top tips relating to key research skills Full glossary to test understanding and provide definitions Annotated further reading to help you move through the literature 'Excuse me, I have a question!' feature to answer common questions. Warm, innovative and clever, this book is packed full of must-have information for anyone doing a research project.
A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK® Guide) - Seventh Edition and the Standard for Project Management (ENGLISH) by
PMBOK® Guide is the go-to resource for project management practitioners. The project management profession has significantly evolved due to emerging technology, new approaches and rapid market changes. Reflecting this evolution, The Standard for Project Management enumerates 12 principles of project management and the PMBOK® Guide - Seventh Edition is structured around eight project performance domains. This edition is designed to address practitioners' current and future needs and to help them be more proactive, innovative and nimble in enabling desired project outcomes. This edition of the PMBOK® Guide: Reflects the full range of development approaches (predictive, adaptive, hybrid, etc.); Provides an entire section devoted to tailoring the development approach and processes; Includes an expanded list of models, methods, and artifacts; Focuses on not just delivering project outputs but also enabling outcomes; and Integrates with PMIstandards+(tm) for information and standards application content based on project type, development approach, and industry sector.