Subject Guides: Academic Staff Resources: Tools

Keeping Current

You can keep current by using appropriate tools to have databases, journals and news sites automatically alert you for new material on your topic or area of research by Journal title or search alert. Look for any button or link that says "alerts" or "save search" or something similar.

Cochrane Library App
The Cochrane Library App presents the latest up-to-date evidence from the Cochrane Library in a convenient, easy to navigate format which provides you with relevant, accessible research, when you need it, from the world’s leading experts in evidence-informed health care.
more...less...
iPad and iPhone, Android
VitalSource Bookshelf
VitalSource is an eTextbook platform providing access to more than 1 million titles from over 1,000 educational content providers. Currently, SIT community has access to nearly 50 ebooks on health sciences and accounting via this platform.

Really Simple Syndication (RSS) is a way for content publishers to make news, blogs, and other content available to subscribers. You can add your favorite RSS Feeds as subscriptions via Microsoft Office Outlook or free apps below.

You know a page has an RSS feed if you see this icon You will often see these icons in the URL bar in a web browser or at the bottom of a web page. They'll also show up in databases and publisher web sites.

MS Outlook (RSS)
Feedly Feedly lets you get the news you want all in one place. It's is cloud based, so once you're signed in, you can access your feedly from all your computers, iOS, Android and Kindle Fire devices.

Business Times Online This link opens in a new window
Access business & financial news including analysis and opinion on business stories etc at your fingertips. E-paper edition of the newspaper is also available for reading. Please access this resource with Chrome browser.

7 concurrent users. Click CONTINUE if you see the message "Your account is used on too many devices" prompted.
- OU Access: On campus and off campus accessible
- Alumni Access: Not accessible
Straits Times Online This link opens in a new window
Access Singapore news and international news at your fingertips. E-paper edition of the newspaper is also available for reading. Please access this resource with Chrome browser.

10 concurrent users. Click CONTINUE if you see the message "Your account is used on too many devices" prompted.
- OU Access: On campus and off campus accessible
- Alumni Access: Not accessible
Financial Times Online (FT.com) This link opens in a new window
The Financial Times is one of the leading international business dailies. It provides in depth coverage of statistical issues and original data analysis, with a special emphasis on business and economic news.

A one-time registration and creation of password is required for first time sign-in to the SIT subscription, but no longer required after the account has been set up. For subsequent access, just click the above FT.com link and sign in with SIT credential.

The content is also accessible via mobile apps. The step-by-step guide is available here.

NOTE: For research or teaching purposes only. For dissemination or reproduction rights, see FT's Help Centre on Copyright Policy.
- OU Access: On campus and off campus accessible
- Alumni Access: Not accessible

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
A leading source of news and commentary about the events, people, and issues shaping higher education in the United States and around the world.
- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link
Times Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Provides global higher education coverage on world university rankings, news, opinions, features and book reviews.

Individual registration required for this resource.
1. On the THE home page, click on the user icon in the top right-hand of the screen and select “Register”
2. Complete the form with your SIT email address
3. Login to access the resources

Educause Review
Look at current developments and trends in information technology, how they may affect the college/university as an institution

Flipster magazines This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to more than 11 popular magazines covering business, leisure, hobbies, fashion, cooking, parenting and more. Read downloadable, full color popular magazines on your computer or mobile device on the go. See more info here.
- OU access on campus and off campus
- Alumni access from library PCs

On campus link

Microsoft Teamsand Zoomare SIT-supported collaboration tools to enable you to communicate and collaborate with people across the University and to have your lessons online.

Productivity Tools

By SIT Library

Etherpad
This pad text is synchronized as you type, so that everyone viewing this page sees the same text. This allows you to collaborate seamlessly on documents!
Google Doc
Google i allows you to use to spreadsheet, word doc and do simultaneous editing. See Video for details.
Microsoft Teams
Microsoft platform that combines workplace chat, meetings, notes, and attachments. The service integrates with the company's Office 365 subscription office productivity suite, including Microsoft Office and Skype.
more...less...
It also features extensions that can integrate with non-Microsoft products.
Slack
A digital workspace that powers your organization. Read here for details.
Trello
Project management tool that has an post-it like interface that just keeps everything very simple and clean. Trello allows users to create project boards and easily manage the people and resources associated with each task. You can shift tasks around, assign to other collaborators simply by click and drag. It also allows you to attached files, images making it very adaptable to your needs. You can create an account for free or link it to your Google account.

Prezi
Prezi is a free interactive presenter. Use your SIT email to create a Prezi account to enjoy for more space and option to set your presentation as private.
Piktochart
Allows you to create beautiful infographics, flyers, posters, presentations and reports easily with no design experience

Evernote
Evernote is a note-taking tool. It is available via desktop, web and mobile apps and syncs your notes between all medium effortlessly.
Workflowy
WorkFlowy is an organizational tool that help you to take notes, make lists, collaborate, brainstorm, plan and generally organize your brain. It is incredibly simple with minimal feature.

Statistics Guide
Refer to SIT Library guide for a list of tools for data analytics, visualisation, survey, etc.
Qualtrics
Qualtrics is a web survey tool developed by Qualtrics Labs, Inc.. Some of the main features of Qualtrics are: question library with survey templates; custom survey design wizard; survey distribution options; results export to Excel, PDF, SPSS, PowerPoint; Anonymous Surveys. Login using your SIT username and password.
more...less...
Qualtrics supports survey-based experiments and features a block randomizer tool for experimental trials. You can use Qualtrics free trial account with some limitations: no access to the Survey Mailer (feature that sends survey invitations by e-mail), a maximum of 100 respondents, no more than 50 questions per survey and 2 total surveys with only 1 active at a time, and a limit of 2 blocks per survey. For help on using Qualtrics, refer to Qualtrics Support.

This section features miscellaneous apps that can help you use your mobile device to be a more productive teacher and researcher. Check out the tabs above and feel free to share with us other interesting tools.

Supported by CoLead and CIT

Academic Staff Resources

Other Guides

Education

Research Data Management

Getting Started With OneSearch

Productivity Tools

Digital Skills Resource Guide

Video Production Guide

Keeping Current

Productivity Tools