A sustainable food system delivers food security and nutrition for all in such a way that the economic, social and environmental bases to generate food security and nutrition for future generations are not compromised. Such a system is pivotal to realizing the United Nations' Sustainable Development Goal 2 (SDG2) to “End hunger, achieve food security and improved nutrition and promote sustainable agriculture”. (FAO, 2018).
According to the United Nations (n.d.), about a third of all human-caused greenhouse gas emissions is linked to food. Reducing emissions from the food sector requires changes at all stages, from producers to consumers. Shifting food systems towards plant-rich diets, alternative proteins, better agricultural practices and reducing food waste are all integral to reducing food-related emissions.
This guide provides resources on how food systems can be made more sustainable.
To enhance food security and sustainability amidst global and regional challenges, Singapore aims to build up the country's agri-food industry's capability and capacity to sustainably produce 30% of our nutritional needs by 2030. To achieve this '30 by 30' goal, there has been a drive towards the development and use of sustainable technologies for agriculture and aquaculture, as well as new biotech-based foods and ingredients. Below are links to some of the resources in these fields.
 |
Aquaculture Innovation Centre (AIC) Funded by Enterprise Singapore, the AIC is a consortium of 9 research institutes, agencies, universities and polytechnics that aims to support Singapore's aquaculture industry in applied research, skill training and development, and consulting services. |
 |
Food Innovation & Resource Centre (FIRC) Launched in 2007 as a joint initiative between Singapore Polytechnic and Enterprise Singapore, FIRC provides food enterprises with holistic technical solutions in food product development. |
 |
Food Tech Innovation Centre (FTIC) The FTIC is a pilot and development facility for future sustainable foods. It offers end-to-end services to alternative protein and future food companies in their scale-up journey, with an in-house ecosystem of R&D, technical advisory, and potential investment support alongside food-grade production capabilities at lab scale to pilot scale and beyond. |
 |
FRESH: Future Ready Food Safety Hub@NTU A national research and support platform under the Singapore Food Story R&D Programme, FRESH provides expert counsel and food safety research services to public and private organisations working to bring novel foods to Singapore. |
 |
Singapore aims to build our capability and capacity to sustainably produce 30% of our nutritional needs by 2030. This website highlights Singapore's plans to transform the Lim Chu Kang area into a high-tech agri-food zone that can raise food production in a sustainable and resource-efficient manner and to expand sustainable fish farming in the deeper southern waters of Singapore. |
 |
Singapore Institute of Food and Biotechnology Innovation (SIFBI) A research institute under A*STAR, SIFBI research capabilities are in areas such as food, nutrition, public health, biotechnology, manufacturing and agri-food technology research. It aims to support the development of solutions for the needs of the Asian market, such as the discovery and production of healthy and sustainable food. |
 |
This study conducted by the Singapore Environment Council identified the volume of food loss and waste occurring at up and midstream stages of food production, handling and storage, processing and packaging, and distribution (from farm to market). It also examined the drivers contributing to food waste and loss, as well as the possible solutions. An Addendum to the study is also available here. |
 |
This report analyses the prevalence and quality of waste reporting amongst food and beverage listed companies in Singapore. It finds that there are gaps in the information reported and provides recommendations and a framework to close these gaps. |
 |
Environmental Impact of Key Food Items in Singapore This study assessed the environmental impact of 13 key food items consumed in Singapore using a Life Cycle Assessment approach. Three key environmental impact indicators were considered: 1) Greenhouse Gas (GHG) emissions, 2) energy consumption and 3) water consumption. |
 |
Singapore’s Role Within the Growing Urban Food Ecosystem: Turning Old Limitations Into New Strengths Prepared by Deloitte Singapore with the support of The Economic Development Board of Singapore, this report addresses the growing importance of the urban food economy globally and in Singapore by highlighting the key drivers of adoption, technology and evolving consumer preferences. It explores how the nation has sought to optimise regulations at the policy level to encourage innovation and facilitate business growth, and how Singapore’s expertise and innovation ecosystem offer avenues to elevate the urban food economy in the wider region. |
 |
What Singapore's '30 by 30' food security goal means for businesses This report looks at global food supply situation and its impact on Singapore’s food security; what the ‘30 by 30’ goal means for Singapore as a responsible global citizen addressing food security amidst climate change; how technology innovations can be harnessed to ‘grow more with less’ locally and produce affordable food sustainably; and the role of businesses in co-creating solutions to achieve this goal.
|
Organisations world-wide that are working towards making food systems more sustainable.
 |
An international non-profit organization that aims to foster the transition towards a more sustainable and resilient global food system by promoting innovative solutions, conducting research, organising events, and offering educational programs. |
 |
Global Alliance for the Future of Food A strategic alliance of philanthropic foundations working together and with others to transform global food systems. |
 |
The Good Food Institute Asia Pacific (GFI APAC) Headquartered in Singapore, the GFI APAC is a non-profit think tank that aims to accelerate a shift towards a more secure, sustainable, and just food system through open-access food science R&D, corporate engagement, and public policy. |
 |
A nonprofit established by the World Economic Forum and the ASEAN Secretariat to build partnerships for more inclusive, resilient, and sustainable food systems in the region. |
 |
International Panel of Experts on Sustainable Food Systems (IPES-FOOD) IPES-Food is an independent panel of experts that aims to shape the debate on global food systems reform, through policy-oriented research and direct engagement with policy processes. |
 |
Milan Urban Food Policy Pact (MUFPP) The Milan Urban Food Policy Pact is an international agreement among cities from all over the world. Its main aim is to support cities wishing to develop more sustainable urban food systems by fostering city to city cooperation and best practices exchange. |
Research centers with a holistic approach to making food systems more sustainable. They are a good source for updates and latest research findings.
 |
Future Food Systems Cooperative Research Centre Partners leading Australian universities with industry and government bodies to deliver impactful research in the future food systems domain in order to develop smart, sustainable and resilient food systems. |
 |
Institute for Sustainable Food at the University of Sheffield Conducts research focused on making agri-food systems more sustainable. Its interdisciplinary approach addresses the entire food system by incorporating the work of natural and social scientists. |
 |
John Hopkins Center for a Livable Future (CLF) The CLF focuses on research, education, and advocacy to promote sustainable food systems, public health, and environmental sustainability. |
 |
Swette Center for Sustainble Food Systems Develops innovative ideas and solutions to the many challenges of current food systems. The Center's work covers water and energy use, carbon footprint and nutrition, innovations in agtech, and also the well-being and livelihood of those working in food systems. |
A selection of international reports looking at how food systems can become more sustainable.
 |
2022 Global Food Policy Report: Climate Change and Food Systems Highlights opportunities for accelerating innovation, reforming policies, resetting market incentives, and increasing financing for sustainable food systems transformation, as well as promoting healthy diets and building resilience. https://ebrary.ifpri.org/utils/getfile/collection/p15738coll2/id/135889/filename/136101.pdf |
 |
This publication of provides insights to the successful policy interventions in three Japanese and Korean cities that have supported resource efficient food production and consumption actions. https://circulars.iclei.org/wp-content/uploads/2021/04/best-practices-circular-food-JP-KR.pdf
|
 |
Communicating Food Sustainability to Consumers: Towards More Effective Labelling This report examines the drivers of food choices, the role of sustainability information and how it is communicated to consumers, with a focus on food labelling. Drawing on recent research, it makes recommendations for more effective communication of food sustainability information. |
 |
Fixing Food 2021: An Opportunity for G20 Countries to Lead the Way Examines how food systems in the G20 countries are performing in the following three areas - food loss and waste, sustainable agriculture, and nutritional challenges - in order to explore how G20 countries can drive the change on food sustainability and the challenges that they face. https://impact.economist.com/projects/foodsustainability/files/Fixing_Food_2021.pdf |
 |
Presents the most comprehensive food waste data collection, analysis and modelling to date, and offers a methodology for countries to measure food waste. 152 food waste data points were identified in 54 countries. https://wedocs.unep.org/bitstream/handle/20.500.11822/35280/FoodWaste.pdf |
 |
This white paper outlines the critical challenges faced by urban food systems today; possible approaches to address or mitigate these; and the key enablers that may help scale a circular and resilient urban transformation. https://resilientcitiesnetwork.org/downloadable_resources/UR/urban-eats-report.pdf |
 |
Waste-To-Value: A White Paper on the Future of Food Upcycling in Asia This White Paper investigates emergent agrifood waste management technologies and also features public and private waste upcycling initiatives in the Asia-Pacific region. https://futurefoodasia.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/Waste-to-Value-White-Paper-7June2022.pdf |