The United Nations 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development includes a dedicated and stand-alone goal on energy, SDG 7, which calls for "access to affordable, reliable, sustainable and modern energy for all."
Sustainable energy, also known as renewable or clean energy, refers to energy sources that can be used without depleting natural resources or causing significant environmental harm. The development and widespread adoption of sustainable energy technologies are crucial for transitioning to a more sustainable and resilient energy system globally. (OpenAI, 2023).
OpenAI. (2023, June 5). ChatGPT response to "what is sustainable energy?" [Large language model]. https://chat.openai.com
 |
The Energy Institute is a chartered professional membership body for people who work across the world of energy. It aims to create a better energy future by accelerating a just global energy transition to net zero. Its Singapore branch works with local institutions to offer events and training, as well as creating opportunities for collaboration and cooperation between Singapore and the UK in the energy sectors. |
 |
Energy Research Institute @ NTU (ERI@N) The ERI@N integrates research across Nanyang Technological University in the context of the energy challenge, and then helps translate outcomes into industry and practice. Focus areas include the development of green buildings, renewable energy deployment, grid management systems, proliferation of energy efficient solutions, creation of a “car-lite” society, digitalisation of the energy system enabling a ubiquitous smart grid architecture and establishing low carbon districts. |
 |
Energy Studies Institute (ESI) The National University of Singapore's Energy Research Institute conducts research on energy policies and their national, regional and global implications. The full-text of some of the ESI's publications such as reports, policy briefs, articles and working papers can be accessed here. |
 |
Solar Energy Research Institute of Singapore (SERIS) The National University of Singapore's SERIS is the country's national institute for applied solar energy research. It conducts research, development, testing and consulting on solar energy technologies and their integration into buildings and power systems. The institute’s R&D spectrum covers industrially relevant materials, components, processes, systems and services, with an emphasis on solar photovoltaic cells, modules and systems. |
 |
Sustainable Energy Association of Singapore (SEAS) Non-government and non-profit business association that represents the interests and provides a common platform for companies in Sustainable Energy sector. |
 |
Singapore Energy Centre (SgEC) A consortium founded by the Nanyang Technological University (NTU), the National University of Singapore (NUS), and founding members such as ExxonMobil, SgEC aims to create a framework for a long-term partnership between the universities and the industry on both technological and socioeconomic issues in sustainable energy development. |
 |
Commissioned by the National Climate Change Secretariat (NCCS) and Singapore’s Economic Development Board (EDB), this study explores how CCUS technologies may play a role in abating emissions in Singapore, and at what costs. It provides an assessment framework for 49 identified CCU technologies to select the ten technologies that are most promising for Singapore to explore further. |
 |
Charting the Energy Transition to 2050 Published in March 2022, this report commissioned by the Energy Market Authority contains findings and recommendations on how Singapore can decarbonise the power sector and achieve net-zero emissions by 2050. |
 |
Decarbonising Singapore's Energy System in the Context of Cooling This report focuses on clean cooling solutions that can alleviate Singapore's power system and cost-effectively support the energy transition to a decarbonised future. It also recommends a series of policies and research activities needed to mainstream the value of integrating cooling within the energy system across energy, urban and industry planning processes. https://www.wwf.sg/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/WWF_SG_CarbonReport.pdf
|
 |
Energising Singapore: Balancing Liveability and Growth This study, released in 2018, offers an overview of Singapore’s energy sector development. It discusses major policy considerations and strategies, and the links between energy, planning and the built environment. It highlights as well the measures Singapore has taken to be more innovative, resilient and sustainable in the face of climate change. https://www.clc.gov.sg/docs/default-source/urban-systems-studies/uss-energising-singapore.pdf |
 |
Singapore's National Hydrogen Strategy Outlines Singapore’s national strategy to develop hydrogen as a major decarbonisation pathway, to support the drive to achieve net zero emissions by 2050. The strategy is organised around the following five key thrusts: experimenting with the used of advanced hydrogen technologies; investing in research and development; pursuing international collaborations to enable supply chains; undertake long-term land and infrastructure planning; and supporting workforce training and development. https://www.mti.gov.sg/-/media/MTI/HPO/Singapore-Hydrogen-Strategy/ebrochure_HPO_Oct_26.pdf |
 |
Reports the key initiatives the Singapore Government will embark on, in partnership with the industry, to transform Jurong Island into a Sustainable Energy and Chemicals Park. It outlines Singapore’s aspirations for the Energy & Chemicals sector to increase its output of sustainable products by four times from 2019 levels and achieve more than six million tonnes of carbon abatement per annum from low-carbon solutions by 2050. |
 |
Update to the Solar PV Roadmap for Singapore This report describes how the solar photovoltaic (PV) market and deployment options in Singapore could evolve in the timeframe until 2030, with an outlook to 2050. It explores what could be concrete targets for Singapore, the possible pathways, the cost to achieve them, and how Singapore's economy could eventually benefit from this. An Addendum on grid mitigation measures for PV and how future smart grid and the Internet of Things could facilitate PV grid integration is also available here. |
 |
|
|
 |
International Energy Agency (IEA) The IEA recommends policies that enhance the reliability, affordability and sustainability of energy. It examines the full spectrum issues including renewables, oil, gas and coal supply and demand, energy efficiency, clean energy technologies, electricity systems and markets, access to energy, demand-side management, and much more. |
|
 |
International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA) A global intergovernmental agency for energy transformation that serves as the principal platform for international cooperation. IRENA drives the widespread adoption and sustainable use of all forms of renewable energy, including bioenergy, geothermal, hydropower, ocean, solar and wind energy in the pursuit of sustainable development, energy access, and energy security.
|
|
 |
Renewable Energy Policy Network for the 21st Century (REN21) A global renewable energy community of actors from science, governments, NGOs and industry. REN21 provides up-to-date and peer-reviewed facts, figures and analysis of global developments in technology, policies and markets. |
 |
American Council for an Energy-Efficient Economy (ACEEE) The ACEEE is a nonprofit research organization that develops transformative policies to reduce energy waste and combat climate change.
|
 |
Center for Climate and Energy Solutions An independent organization conducting research and analysis of the policies, institutions and technologies needed to accelerate the transition to net zero and promote climate resilience.
|
 |
Center for Energy and Environment (CEE) Aims to discover and deploy the most effective energy solutions that strengthen the economy and improve the environment. It offers practical solutions for homes, buildings and communities to reduce energy use. |
 |
Center on Global Energy Policy (CGEP) The CGEP at Columbia University develops evidence-based research focused on addressing energy and climate challenges. |
 |
Strives to develop low- and no-carbon efficient energy solutions. Publishes multidisciplinary reports that examines the role of specific energy sources in meeting future energy demand under carbon dioxide emissions constraints.
|
 |
National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL) NREL advances the science and engineering of energy efficiency, sustainable transportation, and renewable power technologies and provides the knowledge to integrate and optimize energy systems. |
 |
New Energy and Industrial Technology Development Organization (NEDO) Japan’s national research and development agency that promotes the development of new energy and energy conservation technologies. |
 |
Oxford Institute for Energy Studies An independent research institute specializing in advanced research into the economics and geopolitics of the energy transition. |
 |
Rocky Mountain Institute (RMI) An independent, non-partisan, nonprofit organization of experts across disciplines working to accelerate the clean energy transition and improve lives. |