Sustainability @ SIT

Enabling Masterplan 2030 (EMP2030)

Developed by, for, and with persons with disabilities and their caregivers, the EMP2030 sets out the vision for Singapore as an inclusive society in 2030. It contains 29 recommendations along the following three strategic themes:

1) Strengthen Support for Lifelong Learning in a Fast-Changing Economy

2) Enable Persons With Disabilities to Live Independently

3) Create Inclusive Physical and Social Environments That Are Inclusive to Persons With Disabilities 

https://www.msf.gov.sg/what-we-do/enabling-masterplans/emp2030

Forward Singapore

Launched in 2024, this report renews the social compact for Singapore. It identifies seven shifts needed to reach a more equitable and thriving Singapore. These shifts are: embracing learning beyond grades; respecting and rewarding every job; supporting families through every stage; enabling seniors to age well; empowering those in need; investing in a shared tomorrow; and playing one’s part as a united people.

https://www.forwardsingapore.gov.sg

Public Attitudes to Persons with Disability and Their Inclusion Within Singapore Society

Published by the Institute of Policy Studies, this study explores public attitudes towards persons with disabilities in Singapore, focusing on their inclusion in society and factors influencing comfort levels in social and professional interactions. 

https://lkyspp.nus.edu.sg/docs/default-source/ips/ips-exchange-30.pdf/

Religious Harmony in Singapore: Spaces, Practices and Communities

Social Cohesion Research Programme (SRCP) at RSIS

The SCRP at the S. Rajaratnam School of International Studies is dedicated to examining social cohesion with the view to advancing policy-oriented research, forging strategic partnerships, and developing leadership to inspire cohesive and resilient societies.

https://www.rsis.edu.sg/research/social-cohesion-research-programme/

Tripartite Alliance for Fair & Progressive Employment Practices (TAFEP)

TAFEP helps employers build workplaces where employees are respected, valued and able to achieve their fullest potential, for the success of the organisation. Employees or individuals who encounter workplace discrimination or harassment can seek assistance and advice from TAFEP. Its website contains tools and resources to implement fair and progressive employment practices.

https://www.tal.sg/tafep

White Paper on Singapore Women's Development

The White Paper sets out 25 collective action plans by the Government and the community to advance Singapore women's development in the following five main areas:

• Equal Opportunities in the Workplace
• Recognition and Support for Caregivers
• Protection against Violence and Harm
• Other Support Measures for Women
• Mindset shifts

A 2024 report on Singapore's progress towards achieving the shared vision in this White Paper, Progress on Singapore Women's Development, is also available here. 

https://www.scwo.org.sg/wp-content/uploads/2022/03/White-Paper-on-Singapore-Womens-Development.pdf

Building Community Resilience

This playbook documents research undertaken by the Centre for Liveable Cities (CLC) to measure and strengthen social capital and community resilience through a co-creation journey. It identifies two key frameworks - an integrated multi-stakeholder engagement and a community resilience indicator - as foundational in the community resilience-building process. The playbook also includes case studies and a selection of tools that communities can use to help build community ties.

https://www.clc.gov.sg/research-publications/publications/books/view/building-community-resilience

Made for Families
A government initiative to assure families in Singapore of support from the government and community at large.  

https://www.madeforfamilies.gov.sg/

National Volunteer And Philanthropy Centre (NVPC)
Singapore's national agency dedicated to driving a culture of volunteerism and philanthropy in Singapore. It also includes national studies on such as:

• Foundation Landscape Study 2023, a comprehensive overview of institutional givers in Singapore
• National Giving Study 2023, a report on how much, how often, and in what ways Singaporean's give
• Groundup Initiative Study 2023, the first-ever national-level study providing an overview of the community initiatives in Singapore.

https://nvpc.org.sg/

SG Cares
SG Cares is a national movement dedicated to guide and support the goodwill of all who live in Singapore to better help those in need. It provides resources on volunteer opportunities and also contains inspiring stories.

https://www.sg/sgcares

Sustainable Philanthropy Framework

This framework was developed by the National Council of Social Service to help corporates take on a more sustained and longer-term approach to give back to the community and strengthen Singapore's social compact. The framework provides 8 building blocks that offer structured guidance to assist businesses at different stages of their journey.

https://www.ncss.gov.sg/research-and-insights/sustainable-philanthropy/sustainable-philanthropy-framework

Planning a City for Health and Well-Being

Drawing on Singapore's efforts in urban and healthcare development, this study highlights how various urban systems have built a solid foundation towards a healthy city through three broad strategies:

• Protecting against disease through improving environmental health
• Provision of healthcare expertise to support the evolving needs of Singapore's population, and
• Promoting well-being by enabling behaviours that foster health.

https://www.clc.gov.sg/research-publications/publications/urban-systems-studies/view/planning-a-city-for-health-and-well-being

Enabling Masterplan 2030 (EMP2030)

Developed by, for, and with persons with disabilities and their caregivers, the EMP2030 sets out the vision for Singapore as an inclusive society in 2030. It contains 29 recommendations along the following three strategic themes:

1) Strengthen Support for Lifelong Learning in a Fast-Changing Economy

2) Enable Persons With Disabilities to Live Independently

3) Create Inclusive Physical and Social Environments That Are Inclusive to Persons With Disabilities 

https://www.msf.gov.sg/what-we-do/enabling-masterplans/emp2030

The NCSS is the umbrella body for over 500-member social service agencies in Singapore. It drives social service sector development by addressing needs, building capabilities, and uniting communities for an inclusive and caring society.

White Paper on Healthier SG
Healthier SG is a multi-year strategy to transform the way Singapore delivers healthcare, from reactively caring for those who are sick, to proactively preventing individuals from falling ill. The five key features of Healthier SG, as described in this White Paper, are:

• Mobilise family doctors to deliver preventive care
• Develop health plans that include lifestyle adjustments, regular health screening and appropriate vaccinations
• Activate community partners to support residents in leading healthier lifestyles
• Launch a national enrolment exercise
• Set up necessary enablers

https://www.healthiersg.gov.sg/resources/white-paper/

Made for Families
A government initiative to assure families in Singapore of support from the government and community at large.  

https://www.madeforfamilies.gov.sg/

Charting a Sustainable Future: A Roadmap to Corporate Social Sustainability in Singapore

Commissioned by the Ministry of Culture, Community and Youth, this study provides a guide for businesses in Singapore to understanding and implementing effective sustainability practices. 

https://www.veriangroup.com/sg/case-studies/chartering-a-sustainable-future

Forward Singapore

Launched in 2024, this report renews the social compact for Singapore. It identifies seven shifts needed to reach a more equitable and thriving Singapore. These shifts are: embracing learning beyond grades; respecting and rewarding every job; supporting families through every stage; enabling seniors to age well; empowering those in need; investing in a shared tomorrow; and playing one’s part as a united people.

https://www.forwardsingapore.gov.sg

Singapore Centre for Social Enterprise (raiSE)
A sector developer and membership body for individuals and organisations interested in contributing to the development of social enterprises, raiSE aims to raise awareness and support for social enterprises in Singapore. 

https://www.raise.sg/

The State of Social Enterprise in Singapore 2021
This survey provides a summary of the current size, scale, and scope of the Social Enterprise sector in Singapore. It spotlights pertinent trends, emerging social enterprise needs and reveals opportunities for enhancing the ecosystem. 

https://www.raise.sg/component/raise/resource/resource/96-the-state-of-social-enterprise-in-singapore.html

British Council's Global Social Enterprise Programme

The British Council ran a Global Social Enterprise programme from 2009 till 2022 to build ecosystems supportive of social enterprises in more than 50 countries. This website contains surveys, guides, teaching resources and think pieces on social enterprise and the impact economy from around the world. 

https://www.britishcouncil.org/education/non-formal-education/our-resources/social-enterprise

Australian Capital Territory (ACT) Wellbeing Framework
To measure and enhance the overall quality of life in the Australian Capital Territory, the ACT Wellbeing Framework evaluates 56 indicators across the following 12 domains: Access and connectivity; economy; education and life-long learning; environment and climate; governance and institutions; health; housing and home; identity and belonging; living standards; safety; social connection; and time.

https://www.act.gov.au/wellbeing

Centre on Well-Being, Inclusion, Sustainability and Equal Opportunity(WISE)

The OECD's WISE coordinates international efforts to put the well-being of people and the planet at the centre of policymaking. It generates new data and and policy approaches to improve people's well-being and reduce inequalities.

https://www.oecd.org/en/about/directorates/centre-on-well-being-inclusion-sustainability-and-equal-opportunity.html

How's Life? 2024: Well-being and resilience in times of crisis

Assesses whether life is getting better for people living in OECD countries and whether progress has been sustainable and inclusive. This sixth edition presents the latest evidence from over 80 indicators covering current well-being outcomes, inequalities, and resources for future well-being. It also identifies current social, inclusion and sustainability challenges, and highlights key policy areas and emerging risks needing further attention.

https://www.oecd.org/en/publications/how-s-life-2024_90ba854a-en.html

Social Sustainability and Inclusion

The World Bank's Social Sustainability and Inclusion Global Practice focuses on creating more inclusive societies, enhancing the empowerment of citizens, and fostering more resilient and peaceful communities. 

https://www.worldbank.org/en/topic/socialsustainability

Southeast Asian Social Cohesion Radar Report

This study attempts to understand the nature of social cohesion within ASEAN using quantitative methods. The findings provide insights that could hopefully allow the various stakeholders to develop strategies and solutions to continue their efforts to strengthen social cohesion in their respective communities.

https://www.rsis.edu.sg/wp-content/uploads/2022/09/ICCS-2022-Southeast-Asian-Social-Cohesion-Radar-Report.pdf

Social Cohesion: Concept and Measurement

This publication identifies definitions and concepts related to social cohesion, with a focus on the implications with regards to national statistical offices (NSO). It recommends that NSOs should account for contextual specificities when studying social cohesion and avoid overly encompassing definition of social cohesion that can undermine its analytical value. The review also provides implications for the operationalisation of the concept by by NSOs and outlines a number of methodological priorities.

The Commitment to Reducing Inequality Index (CRI) 2024
Assesses the commitment of 164 countries and regions to fighting inequality. It ranks the countries based on the extent to which they are addressing the gap between rich and poor in three key policy areas - public services, taxation and labour rights. It also makes recommendations on policies that can bring about a sharp reduction in inequality. 

Gender-based Analysis Plus (GBA Plus)
GBA Plus is an analytical tool used by the government of Canada to support the development of responsive and inclusive policies, programmes, and other initiatives. It assesses how policies, programmes, and initiatives impact diverse groups.

https://www.canada.ca/en/women-gender-equality/gender-based-analysis-plus.html

Global Gender Gap Report

First introduced by the World Economic Forum in 2006, the Global Gender Gap Index annually benchmarks progress towards gender parity across four dimensions: economic opportunities, education, health and political leadership.

https://www.weforum.org/publications/series/global-gender-gap-report/

Harnessing the Green and Digital Transitions for Gender Equality

The transition towards a green and digital future offers significant opportunities to advance gender equality through new economic prospects and more diverse participation in decision-making process. However, these transitions also highlight existing gender disparities, such as wage gaps and limited participation in leadership roles. This paper makes recommendations on what needs to be done to advance gender equality amidst the shift towards environmental sustainability and digital societies.

https://www.oecd.org/en/publications/harnessing-the-green-and-digital-transitions-for-gender-equality_860d0901-en.html

Reducing Inequalities by Investing in Early Childhood Education and Care

This OECD report resents a new policy roadmap to improve equity and inclusion in early childhood education and care (ECEC). Key recommendations that support this roadmap include:

• Combining universal and targeted approaches, which reach everyone but are aimed at the most disadvantaged
• Develop a cross-sectoral approach where early education, health and social services are integrated with common goals

https://www.oecd.org/en/publications/reducing-inequalities-by-investing-in-early-childhood-education-and-care_b78f8b25-en.html

World Inequality Lab (WIL)

A global research center focused on the study of inequality and public policies that promote social, economic and environmental justice. It produces evidence-based research on the various dimensions of inequality, both within and between countries.

https://inequalitylab.world/en/